Printers Cabinet Update


On Wednesday I gave you a peek at my work table.  So now that I’ve still got you all in my studio, I’m going to keep you here one more day and today I’ll share some of my reorganizing efforts that have been a spin-off of receiving an antique Hamilton Printers Cabinet for Christmas.

Printers Cabinet

Antique Hamilton Printers cabinet

The printers cabinet gives me loads of space for organizing my beads.  Let me pull open a couple of drawers for you.  I put my art glass in the top drawer, with  all my lampwork glass from Beads and Botanicals on the left side of that first drawer.

Lampwork glass beads by Beads and Botanicals

Lampwork glass beads by Beads & Botanicals

Lampwork from other artists fills out the rest of that drawer.

art glass drawer in my Printers Cabinet

The next drawer contains my ceramic bead collection.

Hamilton printers cabinet with ceramic beads

In the back row, the two bird beads and the bead tied with raffia are from Nan Emmett of Spirited Earth.  The blue flower pendant and the green circle are from Nancy Schindler of Round Rabbit Extra.  The curved bracelet focals in the front right compartment are by  Shattera of Shattera Clay Studio.

Watercolor painting of boats in the mangroves of Costa Rica

Yesterday I hung a favorite watercolor, by Susan England, above my printers cabinet. Susan and her husband, Andrew, run a small, remotely located, vacation spot in Costa Rica, called Cabinas Los Cocos .  My husband and I have stayed there several times.  Susan is an artist and painted this scene from the mangroves behind their place.  This picture fills me with so many happy memories, that I knew it would fill my studio with joy.

BOC Second Saturday State of Your Studio

This post is part of the monthly Beads Of Clay Second Saturday State of Your Studio blog hop, where you can share the state of your studio (your creative space) with other clay bead makers and jewelry designers.

What?  It’s not the second Saturday???  That’s right, it’s almost the third Saturday of the month.  Ah well, better late than never!

8 responses

  1. Thanks for the look into your studio space. I think those printer cabinet drawers are perfect for displaying artist beads and really unique things! I think I NEED one of them for my jewelry making area that is in the “thinking” stage of being renovated… Thanks for participating in the BOC state of your studio! Hope to see you here next month too!

  2. I have a wonderful printers cabinet –looks exactly like yours. Please let me know if anyone is interested.(btw..I live in north carolina)

    • Hi Alison,
      I would be very interested in your printers cabinet would you send me a picture of the piece with picture of the inside of drawers? :) I live in Northern Michigan so I am concerned about the shipping, I don’t know where you live…so that may be a problem but lets talk!! :) Thanks Judy Boyer

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

