Bead Table Wednesday – The Good, The Bad & The Ugly


B.T.W. (Bead Table Wednesday)

The Ugly

So in reverse order of the title, we’ll start with the ugly.  I knocked this wonderful bracelet focal off the counter last night and it broke.  It was made by Shaterra Clay.  Each one is different.  She has others in her shop, but none just like this.  I am so upset about this. The focal isn’t ugly, but its brokenness is.

ceramic bracelet focal with dragonflyThe Bad

A friend of mine commented that judging from my BTW posts, I keep my work area pretty neat and tidy.  Groan–so not true.  It’s just that all my BTW posts have just been close-ups of my neatened up bead mat where I have conveniently cropped out all the surrounding debris.  So in the spirit of complete disclosure, here is my whole work table.

Linda Landig's bead tableThe Good

I’m nearly finished with this necklace.  The pink bird is from Nan Emmet of  Spirited Earth Ceramics.  I want to dangle one of those leaves near the bird–which one do you like best?  The one on the right or on the left?  I’m also going to dangle the little brass bird by the clasp.  Along the right hand side of the bead mat, you can see some  lampwork beads that I got from Beads and Botanicals this week, plus a lampwork bead that a friend gave me as a gift. I can hardly wait to design with these!

a necklace, in progress

7 responses

  1. Definitely the stripey leaf on the right. But that’s just me.

    Your table still is neat and tidy compared to mine right now. Ugh. I was just out there, working too late, and fumbled the necklace I was working on and the un-clamped end dumped over half the strung beads all over the floor, After hearing them roll every which way, I quietly set the remnants of my creation on the table, got up and gingerly stepped away, and turned out the lights and called it a night. So you’re WAY ahead of me!

  2. A big boo on your beautiful broken dragonfly focal, Linda :(
    I love your busy bead table, especially that awesome birdie necklace! I like the leaf on the left; to my eye it pops the lovely lampwork bead above birdie.

  3. Bummer about the focal – wonder if you can sand down the rough edge and dangle it from the remaining hole? And since I am full of advice tonight, I think you should use both leaves, one on either side like you have hem laid out. :-)

  4. Sorry to see your dragonfly broke! Maybe you could take a metal bead cap, flatten it, then glue to that end? Or wrap wire starting a little above the broken end and continue wrapping past the end so that you’re making a new end? Then you could use it as a pendant instead of a connector.

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

