Bead Table Wednesday – New Goodies


I’ve Been Shopping!

Jewelry Display

My friend and I were in JC Penny the other day to find a dress jacket for her to wear to a friend’s wedding.  We passed by the jewelry (oh-oh, danger zone) where I saw some adorable jewelry display stands.  They were marked $10 off because they were all a bit bent.  But if you design jewelry, then you know how to wield  jeweler’s pliers and it doesn’t take much to bring it back into alignment.  I’ve tweaked it a bit, but I can see from this picture that it’s still not quite right yet. The left footing still doesn’t sit flush with the table.  But with another small tweak, it will be good to go!  It was a great deal because of the mark down and I think it will make a nice addition to my booth at jewelry shows.  What do you think?

jewelry display with branch designDream Some

I have lots of wonderful handmade metal components on my work table today! I got these components from Kristi Bowman of DreamSome on Etsy.  The charms are handmade from copper metal clay.  When fired they become pure copper and a second firing creates this gorgeous patina.  I’ve already made a pair of earrings from one set of charms (not shown) and can hardly wait to get my hands on the pair that are pictured here.  I also purchased this delightful domed brass heart pendant.

Brass and copper jewery components from Dream Some

Miss Fickle Media

And since I’m a “more is always more” kind of gal, I also placed an order with Shannon LeVart of MissFickleMedia,  on Etsy.  Shannon is well known for the many colors she is able to coax from metals with her special patina processes.  These copper and brass charms will probably also find their way into earrings.

copper and brass earring components and copper beads with patina

I don’t have a definite plan yet for these amazing pure copper round beads.  Sometimes when something is as gorgeous as these beads are, I get afraid to use them–like I’ll spoil the magic or something.  I know–I gotta get over it.  Eventually I just force myself to use my treasures.  You just have to push on through your real or imagined barriers.

Do you ever have to force yourself to take the next step?  Do you have to actively silence the critic in your head?  What helps move you forward?

Check out other bead tables over at the Bead Table Wednesday Flickr group!
4 responses

  1. WOw! All beautiful! Love the jewelry stand, it looks good to me. And I still have to put my first purchase from Shannon one of these days. ANd the metal components from Kristi are gorgeous! All in all I say you got some good stuff!

  2. Pingback: Wild Sage | Linda's Bead Blog & Meanderings

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

