I Heart Macro – Roots


Roots

You may know that I am semi-retired at this point in my life.  I work part-time for the University of Washington, supervising teaching interns.  Each week, I visit teaching interns in 4 different school districts,  I observe them teaching a lesson and we debrief together afterward, looking at what went well in their lesson and discussing ways to improve.  Two of the schools I visit have breathtaking views of Mt. Ranier.  Usually, when the weather is clear, I can’t take my eyes off of that incredible vista.  But the other day I happened to look down and I noticed these amazing roots emanating from the trees in the parking lot.  So I grabbed my camera and I offer them here to you for my Macro Sunday post.

tree root

These pictures make me question what anchors me?  What stabilizes my life and nurtures my soul? How can I grow my roots deeper?  Do you grapple with these questions, too?

tree roots

tree roots

One thing that anchors me, is meaningful relationships with others in my life.  I nurtured some of those relationships while I was at the Bead Fest in Philadelphia last weekend.  Come back to my blog tomorrow to read more about how those connections were deepened.

✿✿✿

Lori of Studio Waterstone  hosts a weekly blog hop of close-up photos.
Visit Lori to get links to more great macro shots.

studio waterstone

I love all things beady and beautiful! I design jewelry, blog, arrange flowers, travel, spend time with family and friends, cook, savor nature, and enjoy reading. email: llandig@msn.com

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in i heart macro, Photography
7 comments on “I Heart Macro – Roots
  1. Sharyl says:

    Linda, you find the most fascinating things to photograph! These tree roots look magical! It’s nice to hear your story too–can’t wait to hear more!

  2. Very interesting shot. Not often you see them so surfaced and stretching out. Looks almost mystical!
    Jenni

  3. Beth says:

    Wow, fantastic shot of the roots! Who knew what was just under the surface, how cool!

  4. Linda,
    Back when I was younger I would not have given this picture a second look, but now that I am older I find them so beautiful. Thank you for sharing and reminding me how precious life is and how nature is truely a stabblizing force!! :) Happy Sunday….judy

  5. CraftyHope says:

    Your shots are really fabulous. I would have been drawn to these roots as well. In fact, I almost took a series of root shots while at a party yesterday. Thank you for sharing them with us!

  6. Annette says:

    How fascinating! I guess I need to look down with the camera more often!

  7. Linda, your photos, as always are incredible! I’ve been AWOL from macro Sunday all winter but you are giving me the urge again. Roots is something that was on my mind all day yesterday. Earth Day brings out the native in me and I should have grabbed a camera and gone outside instead of going shopping. Thanks for sharing.

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

Join 2,229 other followers

I also write for:
AJE Blog Button Image 150x150
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,229 other followers

