Preparations


I’ve spent this week getting ready for an art show I’ll be in this weekend.  It is the first formally juried art show I’ve ever been in and I want everything to be perfect (OK, I know that won”t happen!  I’ll settle for near-perfect.).  I’ve been in shows before where I just brought in some of my work to the show producer, who then just said yea or nay.  This time, however, there was a jury of several artists.  I submitted three digital photographs of my work and they had a points system for rank-ordering everyone’s submissions.  I got accepted!

The occasion called for a more elegant booth display than I’ve had in the past.  I wanted to raise the table up higher, so the jewelery would be close to eye level, so I bought bed lifts to put under the table legs.

Bed lifts to raise the table height.

Next I trashed the old white crushed velvet table cover and got a slinky black one. Thank heavens I brought a fabric savvy friend with me to JoAnns.  I was completely clueless about what to get.   Then, I designed new labels for my earring cards.  The labels identify my company, website and the materials which the earrings are made of.

Earring card labels.

I also  bought new jewelry display busts and nice gift boxes in which to put the purchased jewelry.

Necklace display busts and packaging.

I’ve been using the same design for my jewelry hang tags for about a year now, but my newer  jewelry didn’t have tags yet, so I made some more.  Each tag tells what types of beads are in that piece.  A friend of mine came over to my house today and helped me hole-punch and string them.  I think I’m perfectly ready now, or at least near-perfectly!

Hang tags.

4 thoughts on “Preparations

  1. Am getting ready for a show tomorrow. We’re pretty new at this show thing! Sooooo much to do. Enjoyed your blog, it’s a help. Wish I’d discovered it sooner, though!!! Blessings….

    • I hope your show is a smashing success! I visited your blog, too and enjoyed it. Have you thought of adding pictures? Hard to sell jewelry without a visual! Thanks for reading my blog!

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

