Hello…I’m still here!


You may have wondered what happened to me.  I was blogging so regularly during the week of the earring give away and then you haven’t heard a peep from me since.  Well, sometimes life just throws you curve-balls and you have to make quick adjustments.

1000 Markets

My online jewelry shop was hosted by a company called 1000 Markets.  I chose 1000 Markets because it was a juried marketplace catering to quality artisan work.  I loved the clean, modern look of the site and the great way it showcased my jewelry.  However, toward the end of September we got word that 1000 Markets had sold the company to Bonanza.  Bonanza is more like an e-bay wanna-be; not a showcase for quality artisan work.  I, and many others, were shocked and deeply saddened.  We were told that our 1000 Markets shops would disappear on September 30th.  We could either switch over to Bonanza or go elsewhere.  From what I can tell, most people went elsewhere.

Blue multi-strand glass heart necklace

ArtFire

Coincidentally, I had just recently had a conversation with a friend who has a lampwork glass shop on ArtFire, (Beads and Botanicals). She had recommended that I think about an ArtFire shop.  I didn’t know at the time how important that conversation would soon become!  So when I got news of 1000 Market’s demise, I did some reading about ArtFire and signed up.

Setting up a new online shop is more work than you can imagine.  It takes a long time to write clear, attractive descriptions of the jewelry.  It takes even longer to upload multiple pictures of each piece of jewelry.  Then you have to write “tags” for every piece, that helps Google and its cousins, find your work in a search.  The prospect of getting all that done by September 30th was more than a little overwhelming.  In the end, what I decided to do was copy and paste all my jewelry descriptions and tags into a large Word document.  Having saved all that information, I could then start uploading the pictures at my own pace, without having to worry about the looming September 30th deadline.

Carnelian, turquoise and sterling silver bracelet

As of this writing, I have added 11 items to my new shop and one of them has sold already!  Because I own the domain, you can still reach me at http://www.LindaLandig.com or you can find me at http://www.artfire.com/users/LindaLandigJewelry.   Both of these links take you to the same place.  I am adding new jewelry almost daily.  I invite you to come visit my shop and to remember me as the holidays approach.  I am discovering many nice features  about ArtFire and I will be sharing more about them in future posts.  I’m glad to be back!

What do you think?

Do you like to buy or receive artisan crafts?  If so, what is your favorite go-to market:  Etsy, ArtFire, Ruby Lane?  If you are an artisan, share your experience with online markets.  What is your favorite?  Why?  Let’s share our knowledge of online artisan marketplaces.

6 thoughts on “Hello…I’m still here!

    • Paula, thanks for being my cheer leader! I really think that in the long run, this will turn out for the better. Now I just have to keep adding jewelry to the new shop, so I’ll be ready for the holidays!

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

