Monday Meanderings: Yummy Korea


{Monday  Meanderings:  Musings & Observations From Beyond the Bead Studio} 

Today I’m sharing a few more pictures from our Korean Cooking class, as well as describing some of the other gastronomical delights that await visitors to Korea.   

Korean Cooking Class

I went out to a so-called Chinese Buffet with my father today.  I say so-called because they served sushi, which is Japanese and they served two kinds of kimchi which is definitely Korean.  I love kimchi.  It’s practically calorie-free and it packs a wallop in the taste department, so I piled it on my plate today.  It’s expensive when you buy it in jars in the supermarket here, but it isn’t difficult to make.  Here’s my husband, my daughter and her boyfriend working together to make this delicious side dish.

Korean Cooking class

Preparing Kimchi

Finishing up making the Kimchi
All 4 of us smiling in anticipation of eating our kimchi

 Small Plates and Main Dishes

When you eat a meal in Korea, you can expect a main dish and then a large assortment of small dishes, which always includes 2 or more types of  kimchi.  There might also be sauted greens, bean sprouts, lotus root and small dried fishes. The variety of small dishes can be astounding.

Korean cooking includes many small dishes

Bulgogi and other Main Dishes

Bulgogi is marinated meat that is grilled, usually right at the table. You then wrap the cooked meat, some grilled garlic and maybe some green onions in a lettuce leaf  and eat it out of hand.  It is considered the national dish of Korea.  Before our trip to Korea, I thought it only came in two forms:  beef and pork.  I was so wrong!  We ate not only beef and pork bulgogi, but also chicken and even duck bulgogi.  It was always delicious!

preparing bulgogi at our table in Korea

A built-in fan at the table removes the smoke as your bulgogi is grilling.

My husband’s favorite Korean dish is Japchae.  This dish is consists of pasta that is made from sweet potato starch, which is topped with thinly sliced vegetables and a little meat.  You can easily find the special pasta in any asian food store in the states, but I haven’t been too successful in recreating the dish in my kitchen.

Japchae

Japchae

 

So, now I’d like to raise a glass in honor of the yummy cuisine of Korea!

Hot and tired in Korea -- need a beer break!

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

