Easy Spring Flower Arrangement


Helleborus Floral Arrangement

Would you like to add a beautiful accent to your livingroom coffee table, but don’t have much time or patience for an elaborate floral arrangement?  I’m about to share with you the most simple and pleasing flower arrangement imaginable.  All it takes is some blooming Helleborus from your garden. 

Helleborus come in a variety of colors.  Some bloom in the winter and are commonly known as Christmas Roses.  We have three colors of Spring blooming Helleborus in our garden:  deep purple, white with purple flecks and yellow.

Helleborus blooming in our garden

White and purple helleborus

5 petal yellow Helleborus

As you can see in the photo below, most types of Helleborus flowers hang downward, like bells.  This makes it difficult to see their faces in a floral arrangement, but we can easily solve that little problem.

purple Helleborus in garden

Here’s How

Fill a shallow bowl with water.  You can get creative here.  Perhaps you have a shallow serving bowl–even an 8″ (3.1 cm) pie pan would work.  In my case, I’ve used a bowl that was originally purchased to hold potpourri in the bathroom.  I never use it for that purpose anymore, because I love using it for flowers.

Shallow bowl filled with water Cut some stems of Helleborus.  The number you will need depends on the size of your bowl.  I used 8 for this bowl.

Cut Helleborus on kitchen counter

Now cut the stems so they are about an inch (.4 cm) long.

cut helleborus stems 1 inch long

Float them in your shallow bowl.  The Helleborus will remain “sunny-side up”.  This way you can enjoy these pretty blooms even better than when they were in your garden.

Helleborus floral arrangement

Place your arrangement on a low table, so that when you sit down, your line of vision will gaze down toward the upward pointing Helleborus faces.  I placed my arrangement on the shelf under my clear glass-topped coffee table in the livingroom.  The lovely flowers put a smile on my face every time sit on the couch to read or relax.  Enjoy!

Helleborus floral arrangement

I had cut one more Helleborus stem that didn’t fit in the arrangement, so I placed it in a crystal goblet and set it on the dining table.

Helleborus in a crystal goblet

What are you favorite springtime cut flowers?  Let me know if you try a floating Helleborus floral arrangement.

4 thoughts on “Easy Spring Flower Arrangement

  1. What a beautiful floral display, Linda! I especially love the single Helleborus in the crystal goblet. That would be on my desk for sure! Chochi knows to keep his tongue out of the floral arrangements, huh?! 🙂

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

