Button Swap Reveal


The Swap

I love buttons and so I am excited to be participating in Michelle Mach‘s Button Swap.  As I explained on Tuesday, Michelle, the former editor of Beading Daily, paired all the button lovers up.  We exchanged buttons and today we reveal what we made with our new buttons. For more details you can read “New Buttons”.

Handmade necklace with castle pendant

My partner, Stephanie LaRosa sent me this stunning castle button.  When I saw the open-work at the top of the button I immediately knew that I wanted to use  the openings at the top  to string the necklace.  Although I wasn’t entirely sure how,  I figured that I could use  the shank in the back to attach sterling silver dangles.  I named this necklace:  Castles in the Sky.

silver colored castle pendant with chain dangles

I selected two lampwork (handmade glass) beads from Beads and Botanicals to set the color theme for the whole necklace.  These organically shaped, lampwork glass beads have fine silver tracings over sea-foam green, turquoise and  swirls of cranberry  and amber.  To highlight these gorgeous beads I placed a beautiful sterling silver bead cap at the base of each bead  and added a sterling silver lentil-shaped bead at the top.

Close up of lampwork glass by Beads and Botanicals

The remainder of the necklace includes lovely carved jade beads, aventurine and glass.  Visual interest is added with parts of the necklace designed with a single strand of beads and parts of the necklace displaying clusters of three strands.

green necklace with castle pendant and chain dangle

Castles in the Sky and it is now available in my ArtFire studio.

Blog Hop & Giveaway

Itching to see more great button creations?  Here are the links to all the other artisans who are participating the button exchange.

And, as an added bonus:  Michelle Mach  is having a giveaway!  Here’s how it works:  if readers comment on any (or all) blogs, they can win a set of buttons.  The full rules are on Michelle’s  blog, but basically, each comment on a different blog gets you one entry.  So if you comment on all posts, that would be 25 entries!  But if you comment 25 times on my blog, that only counts as one entry.  The giveaway is open to everyone.

Have fun visiting these blogs and discovering all the cool things that people  made with their buttons.
1. Cat – Boo Beads

2. Cindy – Sweet Bead Studio

3. Cory – Art with Moxie

4. Cyndi – Beading Arts

5. Dita – Alankarshilpa

6. Donna, Marti, and Michelle – Beads & Books

7. Erin – Treasures Found

8. Hope – Crafty Hope

9. Inca – Zerenity Design

10. Katrine – Army of Sock Monsters

11. Krista – French Elegant Jewelry

12. Kristie – Artisan Clay

13. Linda D. – Lutka and Co.

14. Linda L. – Linda’s Bead Blog  ✿You are here!✿
15. Lody – Lody’s Beadworks

16. Lori – Pretty Things

17. Loretta – Loretta’s Boutique

18. Malin – Beading by Malin de Koning

19. Mary – MK’s Creative Musings

20. Maryanne – Zingala’s Workshop

21. Melinda – Melinda Orr Metal & Clay Jewelry Designs

22. Saskia – Perlendistel

23. Shannon – For My Sweet Daughter

24. Shirley – Beads and Bread

25. Stephanie – Confessions of a Bead Hoader

33 thoughts on “Button Swap Reveal

  1. Linda, that’s AMAZING! And thanks so much for sharing the lampwork artist — I had to make a detour to buy an earring pair from her. SO many wonderful things in her shop!!!

    This necklace is just too cool, and right up my alley.

  2. That is so cool. I love the color theme with the lampwork beads. And the way you attached the castle button with the little dangles from the shank of the button. Really nice.

  3. That is a wonderful button! I love how you used the open spaces on it to turn it into a focal. That’s such a good idea–sometimes buttons can twist and turn in jewelry, but the openwork makes it easy to create a stable connection. Thanks for joining the swap!

  4. What a dreamy castle — I really like that you were able to find a way to suspend the button and still use the shank to support the dangles. Very sweet!

  5. I just love it when something already has holes in it! I love the fresh spring colors in this design. Sorry I am late to the party. Last week was not a time to be hopping (unless you were a bunny!). Thanks for sharing. Enjoy the day! Erin

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

