♥ i heart macro ♥ – Blueberries


Picky-Picky-Picking!

Its time for another ♥ I Heart Macro Sunday! ♥

I went blueberry picking last week.  I’m not very fast.  My friend filled up two cans in the time it took me to fill one.  But I enjoy getting out and picking berries and then having fresh berries for breakfast smoothies and muffins!  I was struck by how beautiful the partially ripened fruit was, with its greens, magentas and blues. And I love the little “frill” at the top of each berry.

Fresh picked blueberries

M-m-m-m, fresh blueberries!

green and magenta blueberries

Check out those colors!

green and magenta blueberries

The colors make me wish I could paint!

And here is one of the results of all this picky-picky-picking!

blueberry muffins in the tin

Warm blueberry muffins, right out of the oven!

I also love to make smoothies for breakfast.  Here’s Linda’s top-secret recipe for:

Superior Smoothies

Serves 1

1/4 cup frozen blueberries (or any berries of your choice)

1/2 sliced banana, frozen

1/4 cup 1% or nonfat milk

1/4 cup nonfat plain or vanilla yogurt

Buzz the ingredients in the blender and enjoy!  The frozen berries make it cold, like ice cream, only its full of good health.  Cheers!

✿✿✿

Lori of Studio Waterstone  hosts a weekly blog hop of close-up photos.
Visit Lori to get links to more great macro shots.

studio waterstone

14 thoughts on “♥ i heart macro ♥ – Blueberries

  1. Beautiful shots of the berries; the colors are amazing!! They’re my favorite fruits, and I can’t grow them out here in the alkaline Southwest, so seeing the yellow and pink berries is a special treat.

  2. Great pictures! Makes me wish we had a blueberry bush. The picture of the unripe blueberry looks like great inspiration for a necklace. Love those colors!

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. Linda, your blueberry pictures are so clear I can almost reach out and grab one. Or a handful. Or one of those muffins! And thank you for that smoothie recipe! I have all of the ingredients except I need to check and see if my blender still works. It’s been on the shelf for a while. 😦

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

