Bead Table Wednesday: Rearranging the Studio


~-:¦:-••-:¦:-••-:¦:-• Here’s a link to  my Bead Soup post. •-:¦:-••-:¦:-••-:¦:-~

Ch-ch-changes

Today’s Bead Table Wednesday post will not be about what is on my table, but where my table is now. Warning:  Unedited pictures to follow.  These are true pictures of a project in process, not the finished product!

I like to say that I have a bead studio.  But really, I use the term “studio” very loosely.  It sounds good, yah, but in reality it is a guest room, with space for me to bead.  At the moment, there is just a twin bed in there, and we really need to have a double bed, s-o-o-o, I’m hauling furniture around, tossing stuff and moving book shelves into the den, to make more room.

Believe it or not, there is a twin bed in this picture.  Can you see the beige and white floral comforter peeking out from under the avalanche of junk valuable treasures? I had to clear everything off of two low book shelves, in order to move them into the den.  Some of what you see here, will be replaced on those book shelves.  For example, the wooden drawers you see on top of the dresser, will go back on the shelves.  Those wooden drawers are from IKEA.  They were a pain to assemble, because there were so many parts, but I totally love them for organizing my beads.  The black plastic wheeled unit will be moved over by my bead table.  The tall tripod is broken and needs to be tossed.  The black file box goes to the Goodwill, etc., etc.

There is a window, just to the right of the nightstand.  My work table used to be under the window.  But I plan to place the queen bed perpendicular to where it is now, so I had to get my table out of the way.

Making more room in my studio

Yikes! Still got a lot of work to do in here.

The picture below is looking in the opposite direction; away from the window. The tall stacked disaster in the corner needs to be bombed cleared out.  I’m not sure where to put it all.  It includes my button collection (I love button clasps on bracelets).  I also have some of my packaging and shipping supplies here, as well as extra zip-lock bags for my beads and my earring cards.  The wooden shelf in front of the closet may go into the den with the IKEA boxes on it or it may stay in this room.  I’m not sure yet.

By the way, I used to hand-dye silk.  That’s one of my paintings, hanging over the book shelf.  It had been hanging on the wall, but I took it down, temporarily, when I started moving stuff around.

dresser and shelving in guestroom

Those shelves have gotta go...

This last picture is of my new work space.  The bed and dresser are to my back.  The window is on the left and the closet and door are on the right.  My table used to be at right angles to the printer cabinet and the printers cabinet was about where the table is now.  By lining everything up on one wall, it takes up less space.  The white shelves on my table were actually meant as closet shelving for shoes.  It works great on my bead table to give me extra storage space.  The black unit to the right, on the floor, holds scrapbook papers.  I’m not a scrapbooker, but I do enjoy making handmade cards for family and friends.  The woven basket under the table holds bead boards and vellux bead mats.

My bead table and Hamilton printers cabinet.

My bead table and Hamilton printers cabinet.

Thanks for joining me in my studio/guest room today!  Next Wednesday I’ll share more photos of the progress I’ve made on this project.

✿✿✿

I encourage you to visit the BTW Flickr group and  see what is happening on other bead tables.

link to BTW Flickr group

10 thoughts on “Bead Table Wednesday: Rearranging the Studio

  1. You got some work ahead of you, I love my rinky dink home made printer cabinet but I must say I’m also drooling over your nice Hamilton cabinet. One of these days I’ll find one like that!!

  2. I’m FINALLY trying to catch up on all my blog reading.
    I’m so enviously that you can fit a bed into your studio. That was my original plan. . .everything kinda exploded though. Fortunately, my only guests are my nieces and they’re happy enough to sleep on the blow-up mattress in the living room under the big tv!
    I also totally envy your printers cabinet. TOO COOL!!
    Best of luck as you proceed on this venture.

  3. Pingback: Bead Table Wednesday: New Copper & Some Reorganization Progress | Linda's Bead Blog & Meanderings

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

