Meeting Kristi Bowman


Meeting Kristi Bowman

at Shipwreck Beads

On Monday I got to meet up with my online friend, Kristi Bowman-Gruel.  Kristi designs  jewelry and makes wonderful copper clay components which she sells in her Etsy shop: Dream Some.  Quite a few of my earrings include Kristi’s awesome copper charms.

Copper Canyon Earrings

Copper Canyonl Earrings

Copper Canyonl Earrings

Kristi was heading to Portland, Oregon , to attend the Portland Art and Soul Retreat.  She wanted to make a stopover at Shipwreck Beads in Lacey, WA.  I live nearby, and so we arranged a meeting.

Two handmade jewelry designers

Kristi Bowman and I.

Shipwreck Beads is unimaginably huge!  They claim to have the largest selection of beads in the world!  We wandered up and down over 30, long aisles, filled with beads!

Shopping at Shipwreck Beads

Kristi admiring some beads.

Kristi Bowman shopping at Shipwreck Beads

Kristi Bowman shopping at Shipwreck Beads

We were quite taken by the simple beauty of all the beads draped together in our hands.  Just look at these color ways:

Beautifully colored beads!

Beautifully colored beads!

Beautifully colored beads!

More beautifully colored beads.

And still more beautifully colored beads.

And still more beautifully colored beads.

At last we made our selections and sat down in the little snack area in the back of the store, where we surveyed our plunder.

New beads for Kristi Bowman and Linda Landig bought

Some of the beads we bought.

a pile of glass and stone beads

Some of the beads we bought.

We shared some finished jewelry we brought to show each other.  I shared some of the earrings I’ve made with Kristi’s copper components.

Paisley Blossoms Earrings

Paisley Blossoms Earrings

Paisley Blossoms Earrings

Ammonite Swirl Earrings

Ammonite Swirl Earrings

Ammonite Swirl Earrings

Kristi also shared a lovely selection of her handmade copper components. I didn’t take any pictures of all the beautiful things she brought.  I was so excited by her beautiful copper that I forgot all about my camera!  I did buy 2 copper charm sets and a pendant from Kristi.  I’ll photograph them later this afternoon and share them for my Bead Table Wednesday post.

All in all we spent a delightful afternoon together.  I’m so glad we could meet!

Linda Landig meeting with Kristi Bowman

Kristi and I.

11 thoughts on “Meeting Kristi Bowman

  1. Oh, my, sure looks like you both had LOTS of fun – meeting each other face to face and shopping at Shipwreck. Linda, I would be sunk being so close to Shipwreck (hmmm. . . . pun not intended). Too tempting! Hope you both bought a bunch of beauties!

  2. As much fun as that sounds (meeting Kristi and visiting Shipwreck) I think I would have been WAY overwhelmed by the combination of the two. I wouldn’t be able to decide what to focus on. . .

    I’m so glad y’all had a good time and can’t wait to see the pieces you’ve bought from her!

  3. Wow! I don’t know what I am more envious of? You got to meet each other or you got to go to Shipwreck beads!! I always see that advertized and don’t know where it is? Is it near Seattle? How far away in time? Thanks for a great post!! I want all those colorful beads!!

  4. It’s always fun to find a new Friend in Jewelry! Glad you had fun. I love your photographs of the hanks [sp?] of colorful beads. Great job! And great fun for ME to get to play with you today at the Urban Onion! Too bad about the parking tickets, though . . . time flies when we’re having fun!

  5. You two are so cute and *HOLY CZECH GLASS* they’ve got beads hanging from the ceiling!!! This must be what Heaven looks like to a beader lol . Looks completely fantastic! *jealous*

  6. Pingback: Bead Table Wednesday: New Copper & Some Reorganization Progress | Linda's Bead Blog & Meanderings

  7. Wow, talk about bead overload. You’d need days to go through everything. I guess it’s a good thing I don’t live near there, you’d never get me out, lol. Looks like you had a wonderful time. I love Kristi’s copper pieces. Very original. Would love them for my shop,
    Lois

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

