Bead Table Wednesday: Bead Treasures


BTW: Bead Treasures From A Friend

My friend, Anita, told me that she had some beads that she no longer wanted and would like to give to me.  I asked her if she had been a beader, at some time before I knew her.  She said, “Not really.  I just collected beads.”  So I imagined that I might receive a small baggie of beads.  NOT!  Just look what she gave me last week!

New beads

Bead gift from Anita

There were two plastic shoe boxes full of beads plus a carrying case of beads!  There must have been  over 5 lbs of beads altogether!  I laid them all out on my studio floor and started sorting through them.

beads and bracelets

Beads and bracelets.

The beads I don’t want will be sent to A Little Something, a Denver charity that helps refugee women achieve self-sufficiency here.  There were also some stretch bracelets that Anita had made.  I’m going to see if my local YWCA can use those in their program to help women transition back into the workplace.

As you can see in the photo below, I’m starting to sort the keepers into to color groupings.

beads sorted by color

Beads sorted by color.

And, oh my gosh, just look at all this furnace glass (aka cane glass).  I never know quite what to do with furnace glass beads, (ideas?), but I think it is so lovely!

bag of cane glass beads

Furnace glass beads.

Not only did Anita gift me with beads, but also some tools….

flush cutters and crimp tools

Flush cutters and crimp tools.

….and a cool Craft Mate tote bag, filled with beads in storage boxes!

bead storage and carrying case

Craft Mate tote bag and bead storage boxes

Wow!  Thank you Anita!

✿✿✿

I encourage you to visit the BTW Flickr group and see what is happening on other bead tables.

link to BTW Flickr group

8 thoughts on “Bead Table Wednesday: Bead Treasures

  1. That’s quite a haul! I used to use the furnace glass beads on bracelets strung on a soldered chain. They can go on leather too. It’s nice of you to think of A Little Something! I know they can use the beads.

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

