Bead Table Wednesday: Gem Faire


BTW: New Goodies

I went to the Gem Faire in Tacoma last Friday and I have all kinds of new goodies on my bead table now.  I’m fairly cautious at Gem Faire, because many of the gem dealers don’t have store fronts or websites and I see a lot of gems that look dubious to me.  One booth had beads that were obviously glass, but were billed as quartz, (but had garish bright non-quartz colors).  Other dealers looked quite reputable.  I really didn’t need any stones any way.  They have good deals on Swarovski crystals and I picked up several strands.  The oval beads (below) are Chinese crystal.  The rest are Swarovskis.


new items from Gem Faire

Swarovski and Chinese crystals.

Unicorn Beads always has a booth at Gem Faire and they have great deals on their discontinued lines.  Unicorne Beads specializes in handmade lampworked Boro (Borosilicate) glass.  At a nearby booth, I also picked up one strand of moukite – my only gemstone purchase.

boro glass beads

Unicorne Beads and moukite

Here’s a close up of some of the boro beads.  Pretty, huh?

Lampwork beads

Unicorne Beads

I finished off my shopping spree with 4 feet of brass chain and 2 feet of copper chain.  The ceramic pieces below are from Summers Studio and they arrived in the mail this week, too.

ceramic beads from Summers Studio

New chain and ceramic beads from Summers Studio

Now I can’t wait to get into the studio and start creating with all these new goodies.

✿✿✿

Visit the BTW Flickr group and see what others have on their  bead tables.

link to BTW Flickr group

7 thoughts on “Bead Table Wednesday: Gem Faire

  1. Linda, what a great shopping spree! I am SO envious of the mookite! I’ve been wanting some. Love that green chain also! Everything is really nice but those two just made me green with envy. I’ll be watching to see what you make with them.

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

