I heart macro – Cactus


Its time for another ♥ I Heart Macro Sunday! ♥

We have a large barrel cactus that we’ve had for over 20 years.  In the summer it sits out on the deck – hence the pine needles in some of the photos.  In the fall we haul it back indoors.

One time, many years ago, the woman who cleaned our home, accidentally backed into it while she was vacuuming.  She told me later that her husband wanted to know why she had so many pin pricks on her butt!  Believe me, she never made that mistake again!

barrel cactus

Center of the cactus with new growth.

barrel cactus

Caution: These hurt!

barrel cactus

Youch!

barrel cactus

Top of the barrel cactus

✿✿✿

Lori of Studio Waterstone  hosts a weekly blog hop of close-up photos.
Visit Lori for links to more great macro shots.

studio waterstone

9 thoughts on “I heart macro – Cactus

  1. You’ve kept a plant alive for years!!?? That’s amazing. I can’t seem to get some to live for more than a few days. I’ve got the ‘black thumb’
    Your shots are really great!

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

