Looking Back ~ Looking Forward


Looking Back ~ Looking Forward

As 2011 comes to a close I feel grateful for family and friends who make each day so worthwhile.  I feel blessed by the natural beauty of the Pacific Northwest, the opportunity and the time to be creative, for laughter and health.

Last year I posted 5 jewelry related resolutions for 2011.  Let’s take a look at how I did, what I should carry forward and what I might add.

2011 Resolutions

  1. Build up to 100 items in my shop.  That seems to be the magic number for people to start finding you in a Google search. I’d get up into the high 90’s, but then I’d have a show and sell a whole bunch of jewelry and be knocked back down to the 60’s.  I found its not adequate to just have 100 items in your shop.  You must have more than that, so you can maintain a high number even when you have successful shows.
  2. Blog 2-3 times a week.  Aim for three.  I met this goal, with the exception of a few weeks,  I’m quite proud of how often I blogged–and it paid off in increasing numbers of readers.
  3. Increase the speed/efficiency of photographing and posting new jewelry online.  I’m very slow at editing pictures, writing the item descriptions etc.  This eats huge hunks of time.  I would grade myself with a C+ on this resolution.  My photography is much more efficient.  I got a light box, so I can take pictures at any time of day, whether it is sunny or not.  My jewelry descriptions are better, but still more time consuming than I would like.  The new Google algorithms require a minimum of 250 words per description and preferably more.  That can be quite laborious, to say the least!
  4. Submit one of my jewelry designs to a beading magazine.  OK, I get an F on this one.  I thought about it–does that count???  Ah-hm, I’ll have to carry this over to 2012.
  5. Work on de-cluttering my studio, (&  my house, life etc. sigh…). I made a lot of progress in this area!  Several carloads of clutter went to the Goodwill or were thrown out!  I wanted to make space in our extra room for a queen-sized bed and that meant a lot of my stuff had to go.  I’ll carry this goal over to 2012, though, because I need to keep de-cluttering the whole house.

Resolutions For The New Year

  1. Continue building up the number of items in my jewelry shop.  I’m down to 68 after the Christmas season.
  2. Part way through last year, I started photographing my jewelry on a slate background.  I need to re-photograph the older items that are on a plain white background.  I want my whole shop to have a consistent look.
  3. After Google reformatted its algorithms, I began writing longer descriptions and improving my use of key words for the searches.  Now all my older descriptions need to be rewritten (so not looking forward to that task!).
  4. Submit one of my jewelry designs to a magazine.
  5. Continue de-cluttering my creative ventures, as well as other parts of my life.

Happy New Year!

Wishing you and your loved ones an incredible, amazing, and wondrous 2012!

What goals have you set for yourself?  Do you think you’ll be able to make them happen?

4 thoughts on “Looking Back ~ Looking Forward

  1. Life is always a work in progress – at least that’s what I tell myself when something doesn’t get! You accomplished A LOT this year, Linda! The biggest thing I saw was your photographs – they are so amazing. Since the move, have been struggling with mine so have toyed around with the idea of getting a light box. Reading that you have one just pushed me over the edge! Thank you! HAPPY, HAPPY NEW YEAR to you, my dear friend!

  2. Oh, Linda, The de=cluttering is a neverending process! Just when I think I am organized, I find out I’ve cluttered up another area. Am always in this process. SIGH. I am with you on the photography resolve. There’s another area I need to work on. I would rather just sit around and make stuff than take the pictures, write descriptions and post them. Oh bother! Good luck with the new resolves.

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

