Bead Table Wednesday: Disorderly Conduct (in the studio)


BTW: Disorderly Conduct

…in the studio

If you read the interview with me on the Pacific Northwest ArtFire Guild Blog, it will come as no surprise to you that my work surface is a constant disaster.  I usually have numerous projects going at once.  And I’d rather design jewelry than clean up after myself.  I did include a studio picture with the interview and it looks half-way decent, but I neatened things up before taking that picture.

So I’m coming clean about not being clean.  Here’s how the studio really looks!

handmade jewelry in progressHow do I even find what I am working on????  Here’s a close up of the mess on the left.

Messy table top with handmade jewelry in progress.

Here’s the little blue bowl that is on the upper right in the picture above.

Black bracelets in a blue bowl

Work in progress

These bracelets were commissioned by a friend’s mother.  Her mother had bought a similar bracelet from me and received compliments from her friends.  So she decided she wanted to gift her friends with matching bracelets.  The only problem was that I couldn’t find the exact same black and pink floral beads – I only had 1 left in my stash.  These are similar and I hope they will be OK, (I do like the originals better, though).

I’ve finished one bracelet and just have to add the clasp to the second one.

Handmade bracelet by Linda Landig

Black and pink custom bracelet

Here are a pair of heart earrings I am working on.  I don’t like that extra silver ring above the heart.  It looks too gangly to me.  I may remove it.  What do you think?

Handmade Heart and lampwork earring

Heart and lampwork earring (Lampwork by Radiant Mind)

And last of all, I’m already laying out ideas for a heart necklace.  The photo makes the ceramic heart look blue, but it is really lavender and it pairs well with this lampwork bead, which I’ve had for a long time, (unfortunately I no longer remember who made it).

valentines day necklace in progress

Ceramic heart (by Bohulleybeads) and lampwork glass bead

Well now you have the truth of the matter.  I make pretties while I act disorderly!

I'm very creative(source: Pinterest)

✿✿✿

Visit the BTW Flickr group and see what others have on their  bead tables.

link to BTW Flickr group

5 thoughts on “Bead Table Wednesday: Disorderly Conduct (in the studio)

  1. Fantastic!! I have the exact messy creative desk – only mine is the desk, the floor, the kitchen table, that hall closet and occasionally the bathroom! Great post Linda, it is always fun to see how everyone works and what their space looks like. Julie and Blu

  2. Am glad to see I’m not the only one with a messy desk! And my computer desk is not a whole lot better. Seems I tidy up and 5 minutes later it’s messy again. So why tidy? LOL! Fun post, Linda. And I do agree about that extra ring in the earrings – I’d remove it, too.

  3. I finally cleaned my work table today. Put all the stray beads away, stowed all my many “This is my next project!” piles [do you have those?], repaired a couple of pieces I broke when I fell down go boom with my arms loaded with my jewels. Now it’s all clean and lovely. Can’t wait to mess it all up again!
    You’re a good writer, and a good blogger. ♥♥♥

  4. If this was a contest on messiness, I’m afraid I would win, Linda! And the messiness is only compounded by the fact I do two kinds of work in my little office/workroom–constantly juggling my contract work as a librarian with the jewelry work and beads, beads, beads! Amazingly though, and I bet you are the same, I can find most things. I think people who aren’t messy can’t understand how we do that!

  5. P.S. Love that bracelet and the lampwork! The jumpring in the earrings seems fine to me, but if you are not completely happy with it, perhaps you could try a one with a higher gauge wire, or a more elongated one to use in its place? You wouldn’t have to redo all the wirework that way and it would still hang very nicely. Just my thoughts anyway. (Also really like those little snowflakes on the side!)

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

