Chinook Jewelry Design Partner


I have been very fortunate, this month, to be able to collaborate with Mellisa Essenburg of Chinook Jewelry.  I was given one of her beautifully patterned ceramic buttons to create this necklace, which I titled “Turquoise Tide“.

Handmade necklace by Linda Landig,with turquoise ceramic pendant

Turquoise Tide Necklace

I love ceramic where the glaze pools in darker colors in the recessed portions, while the raised portions remain white!  When I saw that the button that Mellisa had sent me was just this way, I thought:  “YES!”, (fist pump!).

I looped a piece of gold sari silk through the holes in the button, for a soft and pretty accent.  Then I added a ring of glass seed beads to suspend the button-pendant from the necklace.

Handmade necklace by Linda Landig,with turquoise ceramic pendant

Turquoise Tide Necklace

The round faceted beads are amazonite (a semi-precious stone). The little gold spacer beads with the rounded edges are vintage German glass.  The gold colored stones near the chain are agates that have been accented by lacy looking antiqued bronze bead caps.

Turquoise Tide Necklace

Turquoise

The uniquely shaped turquoise, tear drop shaped beads are from Wynnwoods Gallery in Port Townsend, WA.   Port Townsend, a beautiful Victorian seaport town, is my favorite place in the state of Washington.  And a big bonus is that there is a truly awesome bead store there, where I can always find the most unique and wonderful beads!

Turquoise Tide Necklace

Turquoise Tide Necklace

The back of the necklace is finished in antiqued bronze chain, which fastens with a hook and eye clasp on the side, near an agate.

Turquoise Tide” is now available at Linda Landig Jewelry.

Handmade  Necklace of ceramic, amazonite, gold agate, vintage glass, glass and brass.

Turquoise Tide Necklace

Four talented designers were chosen to work with ceramics from Chinook Jewelry this month.  Please check out their blogs, too, to see more jewelry that features ceramics from Chinook Jewelry:

Cilla Watkins of Tell Your Girlfriends Blog:  Tell Your Girlfriends

Patty Gasparino  of  The Junquerie  Blog: My Life Under The Bus

Hope Smitherman of Crafty Hope  Blog: Crafty Hope

14 thoughts on “Chinook Jewelry Design Partner

  1. A beautiful piece! I love the colors you chose to put with the pendant, especially the gold silk and the dark brass. The name you chose for the piece is perfect!

  2. So very clever to do that with the button! I am always wanting to use some of my buttons as focals as they are so pretty. I love what you did with the sari ribbon that ties it all together (pun intended ;-)! Those little dagger beads look like fish swimming in a school! Very beautiful. I love Miss Mellisa’s work!
    Enjoy the day.
    Erin

  3. Hello Linda – the yellow is so soft and pretty with this – isn’t it funny we all use silk/ribbon ??? Maybe because it was a button. *The bead Gods looked down and said “It is good” ” lol XOXO

  4. Linda,
    I think your necklace is beautiful I like how you used the gold in different mediums to bring out the turquoise blue of the button and the different blue beads, also I just love the bronze chain you used.
    Therese

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

