News Day – Tuesday, 9/11/12


New Feature

News Day – Tuesday is a new weekly feature on my blog.  Every News Day – Tuesday will include updates on new items in my shops, work in progress, shows I’ve done, and random chatter. 

This is my second News Day – Tuesday and just since last week’s post I can feel our weather transitioning to Autumn.  It is often warm and lovely during the day, but nights are definitely getting cool and it is getting dark much earlier.  So with some sadness at summer’s imminent end, I am turning my attention to designing jewelry for fall.  Fall is actually my favorite season for designing because I love all the fall colors so much. 

Flaming Autumn Earrings

Although I was kind of looking over my shoulder at summer’s passing, I did really get into making fall earring this past week.  I loved pulling out my deep orange, red, brown and golden beads.  The “Flaming  Autumn Earrings” were the first result.  There is just something about these colors that puts joy in my heart!

Flaming Autumn Leaf Earrings

Flaming Autumn Earrings

Deep Woods Earrings

Last Tuesday I received a package in the mail from Karen Totten of Starry Road Studio.  Karen is a marvelous ceramic artist and I was so inspired by my new goodies that I created the “Deep Woods Earrings  that very afternoon!

At the Puget Sound Bead Festival, in July, Kristi Bowman and I split an expensive strand of etched agates that neither of us wanted to pay for by ourselves.  Its great to be able to divide a bead strand with a buddy!  As soon as I opened the package with these rustic brown and white leaf charms from Starry Roads Studio, I knew they would be a perfect match with those cool  etched  agates!

Deep Forest Earrings

Deep Forest Earrings

I made several other leafy earrings, but it is 9:30 p.m. now and my focus is fading.  I’ll list them in my shop tomorrow and blog about them soon.

What is your favorite season?  Are there particular colors that you love that are associated with that season?

3 thoughts on “News Day – Tuesday, 9/11/12

  1. I love all the seasons, though not everything about them all LOL Right now we are in absolutely 100% perfect weather – low humidity, night temps mid-upper 50’s, days upper 70s/low 80s. It just doesn’t get any better. Sadly, the gardens are starting to look a little ragged, tomatoes are waning, cukes are gone 😦 Oh well, tradeoffs 🙂

    I have a big strand of the most incredible red creek jasper 6mm faceted rondelles that are just BEGGING to be used on several Fall pieces. I think their colors encompass every color of fall leaves out there 🙂

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

