Component Of The Month Reveal


Desert Canyon Necklace

I was one of the lucky ones to be randomly chosen for the September Component Of  The Month Giveaway on the Art Jewelry Elements blog.  The winners received one of these handmade porcelain charms from Diana Ptaszynski of Suburban Girl Beads.

handmade ceramic button charm

Suburban Girl porcelain charms

I was happy to get one of the charms that has the copper patina glaze.  I love that glaze color!  Diana made these charms using a mold from an old leather button.  I can remember my dad having a heavy winter sweater with those cool leather buttons!

I know that these are listed as charms, but I decided to use mine as a necklace pendant.  I went with kind of a southwestern palette of muted tones of turquoise and orange.

  Multistrand Necklace Rustic Handmade Ceramic Pendant Green Orange

Desert Canyon Necklace

The pendant hangs from an antiqued brass chain, below a dyed rust-orange agate.  Rust orange is my favorite color, so whenever I can include it in my designs; I’m a happy girl!  I placed some really pretty brass bead caps on either side of the agate to frame and highlight it.

  Multistrand Necklace Rustic Handmade Ceramic Pendant Green Orange

Desert Canyon Necklace

The tiny glass seed beads were a recent purchase.  I adore their colors and was just looking for an excuse to use them  So why use just a few?  I went all out and created five strands of them, which thread in and out of turquoise-green Indonesian glass beads.

Multistrand Necklace Rustic Handmade Ceramic Pendant Green Orange

Desert Canyon Necklace

Head on over to my ArtFire shop to see more photos and read more about the Desert Canyon Necklace

I’m grateful to Diana and Art Jewelry Elements for hosting this giveaway.  I encourage you to take a look at the  Art Jewelry Elements blog to see what the other participants made.   And, just to pique your interest….I have a big announcement about Art Jewelry Elements that I’ll be posting on Tuesday.  Stay tuned

 

20 thoughts on “Component Of The Month Reveal

  1. Linda, did you hear me squeal?! I adore all the colors in this necklace! It is such a great way to show of Diana’s bead. You know the seed beads made me happy, and turquoise is also one of my favorite colors. I like the chain additions, and that rusty bead is so very cool. You did a wonderful job!

  2. Linda – that necklace is awesome! I love the way the seed beads remind me of Indian corn … so beautiful. btw – I had those leather buttons ‘back in the day’ too. Great Job!!

  3. Lovely necklace Linda and even though it’s a south western palette it makes me think of lovely old english tweed and that would go with just such a button – perfect adornment for an autumn shooting parting at Downton Abbey, don’t you know!

  4. A gorgeous piece! I love how you attached the pendant. Those colorful seed beads are fabulous, and they remind me of the Indian Corn we purchased every autumn!!!!

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

