Rest In Peace Chochi


You were the sweetest, most loving dog we’ve ever had.  You filled our lives with love and laughter.  How can you be gone?  How can the line between life and death be so thin, that you can cross over in just minutes?

Chochi 6-09

Chochi on the day we brought him home from the kennel. He was a little over a year old at the time.

On Saturday, you did your usual happy dance up and down the hallway when you saw me putting on my shoes to take you on our evening walk.

Chochi 4-12

You pulled ahead on your leash and sniffed every interesting clump of grass.  We watched our neighbor’s squad of ducks waddle by.  Their white male turkey was showing off his tail feathers to the hen turkey.

Chochi

 It was starting to get dark when we returned.  I closed the gate and removed your leash.  I said, “All done!”, like I always do and like always you ran full speed into the woods at the edge of the yard.

Chochi-big eyes 7-09

Then you turned and started back toward me.  You howled a loud, piercing scream.  You fell to the ground.  I yelled for my husband, while I buried my face in your shoulder.  “Chochi, Chochi,  I love you Chochi.”  I kissed your velvety ears.

Chochi-head down  7-09

You were limp.  Your eyes twitched and your heart was racing at a frightening pace.  My husband bent to stroke your leg and gently lay his hand on your heart.  It was still then.  I laid down on the grass and let my tears bathe your face.

Chochi-in blue grass 7-09

~———-~

Chochi was a rescue dog.  He picked out my husband.  Both times my husband visited him at the dog shelter, Chochi drew near and nosed my husband and licked his hand through the kennel cage.  Chochi’s former owner had kept him underfed and abused.  He had scars on his snout and was afraid every time we raised our hands, thinking it was a prelude to being hit.  I’d raise a hand to brush my hair or take a glass off the shelf and he’d duck his head.  In time, though, he felt safe and loved in his new home.

Christmas 2012

Christmas 2012

Everyone loved him and he returned that love tenfold. He was sweet-natured, affectionate, even-tempered and enthusiastic.

Now my husband and I stumble through our days, with our grief as present in our home, as Chochi used to be.  But I know that, in time, we will remember how soft his fur was, how he’d bump us with his nose when he wanted attention.  We’ll remember how he loved walks and carrots and how he liked to sleep under the table while we ate.  We’ll remember how he always wanted to be near us and how peaceful we all felt together.

And when we remember, we’ll smile.

Chochi was so contented and happy to be sleeping with his head leaning on my husband’s feet. I took this picture last week.

35 thoughts on “Rest In Peace Chochi

  1. I’m so sorry to hear this Linda, it’s always hard when our fluffy balls of love pass away, especially when it is so sudden. It is lovely to hear that you gave him a good life full of love after his hard start, and I’m sure your grief will soften in time x

  2. What a handsome, gorgeous guy. Thank you for rescuing him, loving him and sharing your happy home and life with him. He has many wonderful kitties and dogs in heaven to keep him company!

  3. Linda, I am so sorry. We are dog people here at our house and understand just how deeply you feel the loss of Chochi. There really aren’t words enough to express it.

  4. I am so sorry – I am crying tears with you. There is just no love greater than the love between Man and Pup….In “my little world” I am a firm believer that my pups are still with me, laying at my feet, always begging for crumbs, and always, always, giving me unconditional love. Peace be with you and your family.

  5. Oh Miss Linda… My heart is broken for you and your hubby…Your description of sweet Chochi sound alot like my Miss Nala right down to the carrots…I can’t even imagine how u must be feeling… My thoughts are with you… I’m sending u a warm hug across the miles…& puppy kisses from Miss Nala Bear…xox :*

  6. I am so sorry for your loss. What a beautiful boy he was. A friend in Canada just lost her dog on Saturday. Also quite suddenly.

    I’ve watched three cats in the past three years grow increasingly feeble with kidney disease, going blind, deaf, unable to jump on things. I sometimes think a quick death would be preferable to the daily, “Is it time?”

  7. So sorry my friend, I feel your pain and I cry with you. Our furry children are so special and leave a mark in our hearts for ever. Thank you for rescuing him and giving him the life he was meant to have, so loved and cared for. Hugs to you Linda. Love, Yoli

  8. I am so so sorry for the cold empty hole in your heart, I do know what your going through. You gave him a second chance at a wonderful safe home, I know it’s unthinkable at the moment but your heart will heal and perhaps a lucky dog will find his new forever home in your hearts . . . .

  9. Oh, Linda, I’m so, so sorry. Am sitting here crying as I type this because the scars of loosing our three are still so raw and I know what you are going through. Just remember that you gave him a a life that was beautiful and filled with much love, love that went both ways. He DID pick out your husband – Chochi just knew. Hopefully he has found Chase, Loki and Mesa and are romping though fields right now. Am sending you and your husband LOTS of healing mojo right now. Peace, my friend . . . Catherine

  10. I am so sorry you lost your boy, remember that he will always be with you. I am sure he’s running free and happy at the bridge watching you from the clouds 🙂

  11. Dear Linda, I am really sorry 😥
    I’ve always faced life with dogs by my side and lost more than one precious pet friend on the trek. I know how it feels like. It hurts a lot cos they aren’t only animals, they are much more than that!!!
    A big hug to you and your husband!
    xxx

  12. Dear Linda,
    My heart breaks for you & your husband over losing your beautiful Chochi. He will always live on in your heart. I truly know what you are going through. We love our furry felines as though they were our kids. In fact, a few over the years were also rescue cats & they chose us, just as Chochi chose your husband. Remember, you will always have lots of beautiful memories – love your tribute to him. Hugs & kisses, Helen

  13. Oh Sweet Chochi, and Sweet Linda & Hans, there are no words. Thank you for sharing with us, Dan and I are hugging you, please feel the love and may your heart feel better soon. I know it will never be the same. Much love- Jenelle

  14. What a beautiful tribute to your Chochi, Linda! What a sweet dog he was. I can see the love you had for each other in his eyes. I know words aren’t of much help in times like this, but I just want you to know I’m thinking of you and Hans and praying that you’ll find healing and comfort. Our dogs make our lives whole and when they leave us they take a part of our heart with them… I know it hurts. A few days after my sweet Pepper girl passed I found a quote by Dr. Seuss… it helped me: Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened. Your dear Chochi will live on in your hearts forever and the happy memories you made together will never fade. (((hugs)))

  15. Dear Linda, I’m so sorry for your loss of this beautiful pet. They become such a part of our lives and heart. He was very much loved, that is easy to see. Such a lovely tribute.

  16. So sorry for the loss of your handsome Chochi. Your words and pictures are beautiful! My heart goes out to you and your husband for I know that pain. Chochi is not really gone as he will live in your hearts forever!

  17. Just now saw this, Linda. I am so sorry for your loss. In my mind, I can still feel our Suzie’s velvet ears. She has been gone since 1998, and I still wake up thinking about her sometimes! This is a beautiful tribute for sure.

  18. Oh Linda, I am so sorry for your loss and the harsh memory of it at this time. You’re right, with time you’ll be able to remember his sweet face, fur and personality with happiness that he was part of our life. He was a lucky dog to have you both in his life and that his last day was filled with what he loved.

  19. What a beautiful tribute to Chochi, Linda. He is such a gorgeous guy. My heart aches for you & Hans as I can never forget how difficult it is to lose a beloved pet. {{{{{{{hugs}}}}}}}

  20. Hi Linda, I just found your blog, and your jewelry is beautiful.
    I’m so sorry for your loss. We have to put down our beloved Gabby next week, she has a collasped larynx , even though she is only 5 , she can no longer breathe well enough to have any kind of life.
    I can’t imagine how hard to have this happen so sudden,w/o warning. Even though it was a month ago I’m sure it is still hard for you & your husband. We are so fortunate to have them in our lives however long that is.

    Please take care, Viki Lareau

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

