Spiral Earrings


AJE Component of the Month Reveal

Once a month Art Jewelry Elements hosts a component giveaway and reveal.  June’s component was made by the talented Jenny Davies-Reazor.  Members of the Art Jewelry Elements team, plus four guest artists were given organic ceramic charms that Jenny made for us. Here are the giveaway charms:

handmade ceramic jewelry charms

Charms by Jenny Davies-Reazor

I received an awesome pair of the rustic green spiral charms, pictured above.  I know that Jenny often uses motifs derived from myth, legend and history, so I became curious to learn more about the significance and meanings of spirals.

First I headed over to Pinterest and made a new board for spirals.  I’m amazed at all the spirals that occur in nature.  I was familiar with some, but found many more.  Here are some of my favorites:

I used to weave baskets, but I had never particularly associated that art with spirals, although many baskets are built up through spirals.

Spirals can be found on ancient rock carvings and in Celtic, African and Native American art.  Spirals are present in Arabic architecture, Japanese rock gardens and Hindu spiritual texts, too.

I learned that spirals are the oldest symbol known to be used in spiritual practices.  They reflect the universal pattern of growth and evolution.  Spirals may be seen as a representation of life’s journey, growth and death.  Apparently in ancient Britain, the spiral was associated with the feminine as the doorway to life.

Chameleon Tail

After gathering all this information I wanted to really accent the spirals in my design. So I started out by forming  a wire work spiral and then I added some whimsical curves, leading down to Jenny’s spiral ceramic charms.

Ceramic Spiral Earrings Rustic Green Wirework Handmade Brass Ear Wires

Spiral Earrings

I’ve been working hard at growing my wire working skills, but let me tell you, it is challenging to make earrings where each earring should be as closely matched to its mate as possible.  Obviously only machine-made things are perfectly matched.  A little variation is part of the charm of owning handmade crafts.

Ceramic Spiral Earrings Rustic Green Wirework Handmade Brass Ear Wires

Spiral Earrings

So next I figured that these earrings deserved handmade earwires, too.  I added a small green Czech glass bead to each earwire as I was forming it.  I really like that little punch of color at the top.  The Spiral Earrings can be found in my Etsy shop .  Jenny’s ceramic components are available in her Etsy shop.  Check them out!

Ceramic Spiral Earrings Rustic Green Wirework Handmade Brass Ear Wires

Spiral Earrings

Want to see more gorgeous  jewelry with Jenny’s ceramic charms?  Here are all the links.  Have fun!

Guest artists:

The AJE Team:

Jennifer Cameron –  http://glassaddictions.com/
Jenny Davies-Reazor  –  http://www.jdaviesreazor.com/blog 
Susan Kennedy  –  http://www.suebeads.blogspot.com/
Linda Landig –   http://www.lindasbeadblog.com/
Melissa Meman   –  http://melissameman.blogspot.com/
Rebekah Payne  –  http://www.treewingsstudio.com/
Jo Tinley  –   http://daisychaindesignsjewellery.blogspot.com/
Lesley Watt  –   http://thegossipinggoddess.blogspot.com/
Francesca Watson  – http://www.francescawatson.com
Diana Ptaszynski   – http://www.vintagebluestudio.typepad.com/
Kristi Bowman –  http://dreamsomedesigns.blogspot.com
Kristen Stevens  – http://kristen-beadjourney.blogspot.com/

I am always delighted to read your comments!   Hope to hear from you.

Linda

Linda Landig Jewelry – ArtFire 
Linda Landig Jewelry – Etsy

13 thoughts on “Spiral Earrings

  1. You my friend are a goddess with wire and I love how you looked into the meaning of spirals. I know that in design affection for spirals means something like nature, flow and love but you found out so much more. I love those earrings!

  2. Thank you for doing the research about the history and meaning of spirals. I’ve been drawn to them since childhood, and have wondered about their origins. We think alike in so many ways! And your earrings – well, they’re just divine. You have such a gift for adding just the right touches to your beautiful charms and pendants. Like I’ve said before in the last couple of years, I wanna be just like you when I grow up! Great job – very interesting and inspirational blog post. Love it. Love YOU.

  3. Linda, i love these…the wirework and the seemingly simplicity of the design is perfect! I say that because even though the design looks simple, you and I know it really isn’t 😉 Beautiful work!

    • Thanks Melissa – yah I really labored over those curves at the bottom to try to keep them similar lengths and widths. I’m pleased that they turned out and that they are a little playful! I’m glad that you could appreciate the work in the “simplicity”.

  4. Such beautiful earrings, Linda. Thanks for the information about spirals. The former biology teacher in me reall enjoyed reading about them. Looking for patterns in nature is on of my favorite hobbies. Also, your wire work is great. I love the touch of green on the ear wires. I think the fact that hand crafted jewelry does not always give a perfect match from one earring to another is what give it its charm and intrinsic value.

  5. Woo Hoo. Spirals may be my favorite motif… These are lovely Linda!!! And I am honored and flattered that my love of myth and folklore has inspired you!

    “There is beauty in imperfection” I don’t know where the quote came from but it is hardwired into my memory from Art History 101 in college. So – I clearly agree with your thoughts on perfection and matching vs identical.

    Thanks for creating with these lil charms!

    • I am so pleased that you like what I did with your charms and that you enjoyed my little essay on spirals. Thank you for sharing your handiwork with me! btw, I’ve heard that saying about beauty in imperfection, too. Maybe I heard it from my mother, who had studied art, too.

  6. Pingback: More Spirals | Linda's Bead Blog & Meanderings

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

