Wonky Bead Blog Hop


My apologizes for arriving late to the blog hop.  The cord that recharges the battery on my laptop is broken and so until the new one arrives, I had to find another computer to use for my blog post. Hence the fact that I’m a day late.

I had a lot of fun working with Kristi Bowman’s polymer clay “Wonky Beads”.  I loved both the colors and the fun textures.  Here are the beads that I bought for the blog hop.

planning 3

I had some ideas in mind for what I wanted to do, but nevertheless, it took a couple of false starts.  This was my first layout.  I really liked it, but the pendant has a yellowish cast to it, that just didn’t work with Kristi’s beads.  Sadly, I had to set it aside.

planning necklace

Next off, I tried a ceramic butterfly that was a perfect color match.  I even knotted this onto the necklace and knotted some of the beads together, but I just wasn’t feeling it.

planning 2

  I stared at it for awhile and finally cut the butterfly off.   I decided that the Wonky Beads spoke for themselves and that the necklace looked too cluttered with the pendant.  When I restrung it, without the pendant I had that “just right” feeling that tells me that I’ve arrived at my happy design place!

Wonky Bead Necklace

Wonky Bead Necklace

The necklace is strung on a doubled strand of brown cotton cording and the upper portion features 2 strands of dark teal “peanut” beads, with a button closure.  When I found that button in my stash, I was thrilled!  Look how well it accents the polymer clay tube bead, above the small red disk!  The “Wonky Bead Necklace” is available in my Etsy shop.

You can find links to all the other Wonky Bead creations of Kristi Bowman’s blog!  Check out her shop, as well!

8 thoughts on “Wonky Bead Blog Hop

  1. Great necklace! I actually thought that the button was one of Kristi’s beads, it’s the perfect match up. The peanut beads look great too, I might have to buy some for myself.

  2. It’s OK, I’m late to commenting here. Thanks for coming by and checking out my wonkiness too. i really like the way you balanced out the chunky beads with the substantial seed beaded tubing. It really enhances the design of the piece as the chunky beads have so much visual weight all by themselves. I like the way you finished it off with the button and the fringy ends too.

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

