Forest Dewdrop Necklace


AJE Component of the Month Reveal

Once a month Art Jewelry Elements (AJE) hosts a component giveaway and blog hop.  September’s component was made by the talented Lesley Watt of THEA Elements.

Members of the Art Jewelry Elements team, plus a few  lucky guest artists were each given one of these amazing handmade brass “Bursting Seed Pod” bead caps.   I received the green one that is positioned at about 2:00 in the first photo below.

artisan bead components by Lesley Watt

Bursting Seed Pods from THEA Elements

This piece presented a number of challenges to me.  First off I wanted to find a bead to fit within the metal piece that Lesley made.  I found that Lesley’s bead cap was 18mm large.  I had very few beads that were that size and most of the ones I did have, had flowers, swirls or other designs that competed with the pretty design on the top of the bead cap.

At one point I bought a strand of 18mm magnesite beads.  The magnesite looked passable with Lesley’s bead cap, but not great.  Eventually I located a beautiful lampwork glass bead by Genea Beads  that was a perfect match for the bead cap.  I strung those 2 components onto a lampwork glass headpin by Nancy Boylan of Snazzy Doodles.

handmade necklace by Linda Landig Jewelry

Forest Dewdrop Necklace

Nancy was my Bead Soup exchange partner a couple of years ago and she gave me the most amazing collection of her lampwork to work with.  I still had 2 headpins and one bead leftover from that exchange.  The headpin was perfect for the pendant I was creating, but it had the thickest, toughest metal pin that I have ever encountered.  After I’d wrapped the loop at the top, I could not clip the extra wire, no matter how hard I pressed on the cutters.  So I brought it to my husband and jokingly told him that I was providing him with an opportunity to show off his manly prowess!   He clamped down with all his might and….the pliers broke, but the excess wire remained intact!!!  I finally went out into the garage and got the big electrical wire shears and was able to clip the wire.  Sheesh!

artisan necklace by linda landig jewelry

Forest Dewdrop Necklace

After that things went fairly smoothly!  I am moving toward making more and more of my own ear wires, bails and clasps, so I decided to make my own clasp and use Nancy’s lampwork glass bead that I still had leftover from our exchange.  To transition from the beaded double strands to the chain, I used two shell hoops, with one of them serving as the loop for my handmade clasp.

handmade necklace by Linda Landig Jewelry

Forest Dewdrop Necklace

Here’s how the whole necklace looks, on my trusty mannequin, Matilda.

handmade necklace by linda landig jewelry

Forest Dewdrop Necklace

Want to see more gorgeous  jewelry with Lesley’s wonderful Bursting Seed Pod bead caps?  Here are all the links.  Have fun!
Guest designers:
Erin Prais-Hintz – Tesori Trovati
Cate – Fulgorine
Claire Lockwood – Something To Do With Your Hands

AJE team

Jennifer Cameron

Jenny Davies-Reazor
Francesca Watson
Melissa Meman
Linda Landig – You are here!
Susan Kennedy
Rebekah Payne
Caroline Dewison
Lesley Watt
I am always delighted to read your comments!   Hope to hear from you.

Linda

Linda Landig Jewelry – ArtFire 
Linda Landig Jewelry – Etsy
17 thoughts on “Forest Dewdrop Necklace

  1. That’s so pretty Linda – I love the addition of the headpin and the gorgeous shape it creates…great use of autumn colours too. ThanK you for Taking art and rising to the challenge and so sorry it cost you your pliers!

  2. What a pretty, delicate necklace! Love your pliers story, I know I would have had to figure out how to incorporate that extra wire in the design! 🙂 That headpin is just stunning, and I do so love your clasp. Well done Ms. Linda!

  3. Congrats on a beautiful design, and on making your own clasp – terrific job! It suits the piece perfectly! And I love how you pulled all the colors together – this is really very pretty. (I did laugh out loud over the wire, though – sheesh!!)

  4. Such a different color palette! That is a wear with everything sort of necklace. I love the glass beads you used and that head pin would have scared me with that heavy gauge wire! I am always afraid I will break the glass on those! Kudos on making your own links and clasp. That is something I would like to do as well. Enjoy the day. Erin

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

