Earrings Everyday April Challenge


Take Flight 

Welcome to the We’re All Ears blog hop!  Once a month, Erin Prais-Hintz posts a picture on the Earrings Everyday blog to inspire our earring designs and then on the third Friday of the month everyone shares what they have created.

This month’s inspiration is a beautifully staged photo from the Pottery Barn.

Skylark table setting from the Pottery Barn

As usual, the first thing that I loved about this photo was the rich colors:  olive-green, brown, and yellow.  Swoon!  After I recovered from my color swoon, I noticed the bird on the plate and how that shape is echoed in the bowl that holds the olive oil.

So here’s what I came up with:

Handmade bird and flower earrings bu Linda Landig Jewelry

Take Flight earrings

The ceramic connectors are the creation of Marti Conrad of Marti’s Buttons-n-Beads. I love glaze on Marti’s connectors.  It’s not just a solid green, there are flecks of blue and brown too.  It makes them much more interesting  than just a flat green color.

Handmade Summer flower earrings by Linda Landig

Take Flight earrings

The birds used to have 2 loops each, but my wire cutters and a file solved that problem!  The flowers pick up the silver tones of the silverware in the Pottery Barn picture.  I’ve never seen a silvery coating on beads quite like what these flowers have and I always gravitate toward unique finds! The slightly whimsical striped yellow beads bring in the yellow tones on the bird and in the base of the drinks.

The Take Flight earrings are available in my Etsy shop now.

One of a kind earrings by Linda Landig Jewelry

Take Flight earrings

Now comes the fun part.  Click on the little frog picture at the end of this post to get links to all the challenge participants or simply go to Earrings Everyday for all the links.  Then visit everyone’s blogs to see the wonderful earrings they have created!

I am always delighted to read your comments!   Hope to hear from you.

Linda

Linda Landig Jewelry – ArtFire 
Linda Landig Jewelry – Etsy

18 thoughts on “Earrings Everyday April Challenge

  1. Those little birdie bowls are what attracted me to this picture in the first place (so much so that I actually ordered TWO sets of them! I like to have my bead table covered with cute bowls for my beads to live in as I find that if I see them then I use them!) I love the glaze on those buttons. Great little earrings! Thanks for joining in the We’re All Ears challenge! Enjoy the day. Erin

  2. These are such perfect earrings! You captured so many elements of the photo. The ceramic connector colors are gorgeous and give such a nice backdrop for the birds. The flower and the striped beads add perfect balance to the birdy connectors. Notice how many times I have used the word “perfect” in this comment? (And I notice that I am not the only one.) I l-o-v-e these earrings!!!

  3. Lovely, the connectors and the birds go so perfectly together! I would never have dared to just cut off one of their loops, but it totally works – extra points for bravery! 🙂

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

