Happy Day Bracelet


AJE Component of the Month Reveal

April’s Art Jewelry Elements (AJE) giveaway was hosted by the multi-talented Lesley Watt of  Thea Elements.   Members of the AJE team, plus a few lucky guest artists, were given one of these delightful, ceramic button clasps that Lesley made for us.

Button Clasps from THEA Elements

Here’s the bracelet I made with the clasp that I received.

Handmade bracelet by Linda Landig Jewelry

Happy Day Bracelet

I combined Lesley’s clasp with an enameled bead in a matching color,  a yellow-peach colored ceramic cube from Suburban Girl and a faceted polymer clay bead from Second Surf.  The back of the bracelet has 3 strands of glass cube beads, interspersed with purple Czech glass seed beads.  I strung them all on denim blue Irish waxed linen and added a Czech glass flower dangle near the clasp.

purple, blue and yellow, handmade, multi-strand bracelet

Happy Day Bracelet

I called this the “Happy Day Bracelet” because I had the most delightful day when I made this bracelet.  I began the day with my first session of a volunteer job tutoring a young man in basic reading skills.  Our first session went much better than expected.  I felt that old thrill that I always experienced as a teacher, when I could see that real learning was taking place.  There’s nothing like it!  After the tutoring session, I came home and made this bracelet.  Then after dinner, I went to Marion Pollman’s studio for a ceramics lesson. We glazed my first batch of ceramic pendants and charms.  I can’t even begin to express how happy I am that Marion is helping me to make my ceramic dreams come true!  After all that goodness in one day, I was just certain that this had to be called the “Happy Day Bracelet“!

Handcrafted bracelet by Linda Landig Jewelry

Happy Day Bracelet

Want to see more gorgeous  jewelry with Lesley’s awesome button clasps?  Here are all the links.  Have fun!

Guest Designers:

Johana Nunez

I am always delighted to read your comments!   Hope to hear from you.

Linda

Linda Landig Jewelry – ArtFire 
Linda Landig Jewelry – Etsy
19 thoughts on “Happy Day Bracelet

  1. Beautiful bracelet Linda – I love the soft heathery colours and the button sits so well with Barbara’s lovely faceted bead…this would be a well worn bracelet in my collection Thank you for taking part..

  2. Linda, I always love seeing what you create, your sense of color is awesome. Love the story even more. As a homeschool mom and avid reader, I am so thrilled that my kids have the same love of reading. Thank you for making a difference in that young man’s life.
    And I’m excitedly following your journey in the clay world! I would love to venture there someday.

  3. Beautiful selection of beads! I love the translucent glass seed beads with the button, and the little punch of turquoise in the polymer bead is a great addition!

  4. I love all shades of purple so I love your color selection. The shapes of the beads make this interesting visually. Well done!

  5. I love the way you create, and this is indeed a very happy bracelet, made by a wonderful and kind person–you! Jean! xoxox

  6. Those are great colors you pulled to pair with your button. I love the faceted bead for the contrast and the way this must feel silky when you wear it. Nice job! Enjoy the day! Erin

  7. Awwww I love that you used some of my beads. I really like the soft color palette you chose overall. Also, I’m super excited to see your new adventures in ceramics!

  8. It is a lovely bracelet. I love your use of the second surf bead with the clasp, they seem to go together perfectly. And, the simple cube beads that make up the majority of the bracelet don’t overwhelm your art beads and really let those shine. Excellent.

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

