We’re All Ears :: May


Spiral Nerite Earrings

Welcome to the May, We’re All Ears blog hop!  Once a month, Erin Prais-Hintz posts a picture on the Earrings Everyday blog to inspire our earring designs. Then we all  share what we have created.

This month’s inspiration is a beautiful photo of Zigzag Nerite Shells.  Isn’t nature amazing?

red, black and white snail shells.  Earring inspiration.

Zigzag Nerite Shells

I love the deep, rich red in these shells and wanted to be sure that was a dominant part of my design.  Next I dug through my black bead stash, but somehow none of those beads seemed “just right”.  They all just looked sort of ho-hum with the red beads I’d selected.

Handmade spiral earrings by Linda Landig Jewelry

Spiral Nerite Earrings

My next thought was to pair the red beads up with some copper, at which point I spotted these cool artisan spirals that I’d purchased quite some time ago.  The copper spirals were a perfect way to echo the spiral form of the snail shells!  Now that I’d found a “theme”, the rest was easy.  I made spiral headpins out of patina’ed copper wire and bent the spirals upward so they made a spiral at the center of the red beads.  I made a triple wrapped loop at the tops of the beads and attached them to the copper spirals.

Artisan earrings by Linda Landig Jewelry

Spiral Nerite Earrings

The Spiral Nerite Earrings will be in my Etsy shop later this evening.  UPDATE:  The Spiral Nerite Earrings are now in my shop HERE.

Now comes the fun part.  Click on the little frog picture at the end of this post to get links to all the challenge participants or simply go to Earrings Everyday for all the links.  Then visit everyone’s blogs to see the wonderful earrings they have created!

I am always delighted to read your comments!   Hope to hear from you.

Linda

Linda Landig Jewelry – ArtFire 
Linda Landig Jewelry – Etsy

 

16 thoughts on “We’re All Ears :: May

  1. This is an amazing pair of earrings and I think you captured exactly what you were after in both visual appeal, and in concept! I love what you did and how you wrote about it!!! jean xox

  2. Love your earrings and especially how you connected the bead! Will have to try something similar. Thanks for the inspiration.

  3. I love those beautiful deep red beads, and the copper spirals are so unique. The addition of the spiraled headpin pulled your theme together so nicely. Fun earrings!

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

