Waxed Linen Jewelry Blog Hop


Spools of colorful waxed linen.

A couple of years ago I took a class from Erin Siegel where we learned to make earrings using Irish waxed linen.  I’ve been happily knotting linen cording ever since!

Diana and I learning to use waxed linen, with Erin’s guidance.

When I first heard that Diana was hosting a waxed linen blog hop, I imagined that I would have quite a few pieces of new jewelry to show today.  But I’ve been so wrapped up in making ceramic pendants lately, that it wasn’t until last night that I started to work on a necklace.

However, I do love working with with waxed linen, so making this necklace was a pleasure.

Handmade necklace by Linda Landig

Blue Raven Necklace

The ceramic raven pendant was made by Oh! Sullivan Studio. Most of the ceramic beads were made by Mary Hubbard of White Clover Kiln.

Handmade Raven Necklace by Linda Landig

Blue Raven Necklace

The dark blue ceramic beads are from Kazuri Beads.  There’s some recycled glass and Czech glass beads, too.  I like the way that the linen knots separate the beads, so they stand out more and the way it adds an extra bit of color.

Blue Raven Necklace by Linda Landig

Blue Raven Necklace

I am looking forward to visiting all the other participants in this blog hop.  Their creations will be so inspiring.  I’d encourage you to visit their blogs too.  The links are below.

I am always delighted to read your comments!   Hope to hear from you.

Linda

Linda Landig Jewelry – ArtFire 

Linda Landig Jewelry – Etsy

 

Diana Ptaszynski  Our much appreciated hostess
37 thoughts on “Waxed Linen Jewelry Blog Hop

  1. You may have only made one piece, but you made it a good one! My husband happened to glance up from his book as I was on your page and actually stopped reading to comment on how cool he thought your necklace is… it was probably the raven that caught his attention. A really nice mix of beads and colors. Love it!

  2. And this is the wonderful thing about waxed linen. You can whip up something quickly with it. I love what you made!!! Thank you for participating!

  3. Linda, I loved reading that your journey with waxed linen started with my mini-class at Bead Fest. That makes my heart so happy that the experience inspired your jewelry-making. I love that photo of you and Diana working away during class! What a perfect photo to share. I love it! I’ve seen you do some really lovely work with waxed linen cord since that day. I’m so happy to hear you are enjoying it and the waxed linen has become a favorite material for you. Keep up the awesome work!

  4. Such a pretty necklace! I love the focal bead and the way you picked up its colors in the accent beads and the way the knotted cord helps those beads stand out, too.

  5. Love the necklace you made—beautiful composition and colors. I’m going to have to pull out my waxed linen and experiment!

  6. Gorgeous! I love the way all of your elements just flow together so perfectly. Who needs quantity when the quality of your piece is so beautiful!

  7. Wow, I can’t imagine putting all those little ‘peanut’ beads together on some linen. Love the color and design in your necklace. Very fun. I, too, like the pop of color with the linen knots in between the beads. Very pretty.

  8. Hi Linda,
    I love your necklace it is beautiful. the blue and cream colors just really make the raven pendant pop.
    Therese

  9. So that raven would have totally stumped me…its square (square things stump me) and its a raven! But it looks so cool and peaceful and happy in your necklace…like it was made to be in that exact spot. Love the colors and the peaceful feeling this necklace evokes.

  10. I’m in love! I think your necklace has to be a star of the show! Eloquent, nurturing, calming. Beautiful! Everything from the beads to the peanut bead “chain” to the colorway to the sweet raven is in exquisite harmony! Happy Hopping! ♥ TJ

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

