August Component Of The Month Reveal


Rustic Feather Necklace

The talented Rebekah Payne of Tree Wings Studio is this month’s hostess for the AJE Component of the Month Challenge.  Rebekah is well known for her delightful polymer clay jewelry components, but for the last year or so, she has been working with leather, as well.   Her colorful leather feathers are really inspiring.  They come in 2 sizes: large ones for pendants or smaller ones for earring pairs.  I requested the smaller earring size and received the pair in the the upper left of this photo.

handmade leather feathers for earrings

Leather Earrings Pairs From Tree Wing Studio

Even though these are the smaller sized feathers, they are still close to three inches long, so I decided to use mine as a pendant.  I folded the top of the feather around one of Karen Totten’s ceramic gear links and I secured it with Irish waxed linen cord.  I dangled a copper charm on one side and a copper colored flower with an antiqued brass bird on the other.

Handmade necklace

Rustic Leather Feather Necklace

The beaded part of the necklace includes lightweight wood beads and Greek ceramic discs. I attached these to a long length of leather, that simply slips over the head, without needing a clasp.

handmade necklace by Linda Landig Jewelr

Rustic Leather Feather Necklace

I really like the necklace, but I have 2 questions where I’d appreciate some feedback from readers.  Do you like the charms on either side of the feather, or would it look better without them?  What do you think about the length of the necklace?  Do you think it should be shorter, or not?

Handmade leather feather necklace by Linda Landig Jewelry

Rustic Leather Feather Necklace

The Rustic Leather Feather Necklace is now available in my Etsy shop, here: https://www.etsy.com/listing/201887706/leather-feather-necklace-rustic-woodland?ref=shop_home_feat_4

Listed below are links to all the people who participated in this month’s challenge.  Check out their blogs to see all the unique designs made with Rebekah’s leather feathers!

Guest Artists
The AJE Team
Linda Landig <— You are here!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I am always delighted to read your comments!   Hope to hear from you.

-Linda

Linda Landig Jewelry

 

21 thoughts on “August Component Of The Month Reveal

  1. That’s a great necklace Linda!!! I think it would look fine without the charms but vote to leave them there! It looks like a little collection of trinkets which suits the feather.

  2. I absolutely love this necklace! The wooden beads with the feather just look perfect! I also like the charms with the feather, like a little collection of treasures found on a walk through the woods. I also like the length. I love slip-over-the-head ease. It’s perfect the way it is.

  3. I agree with all previous comments. The length is perfect, and I like that it did not need a clasp. By all means, keep the “trinkets”. this piece reminds me of the Cherokee talking stick I had made for me by a native tribesman in North Georgia. It is basically a curved oak branch with feathers beads and other trinkets attached. The chief of the tribe is said to have used this stick in tribal council meetings. Whoever held the stick could speak. I used in for some outdoor activities with my students–what fun! The next time I go to our storage locker, I will try to get it out and take a picture for you.

  4. I love your necklace as it is, I wouldn’t change the charms nor the length. I love the rustic feel, the earthy colors, it is very poetic.

  5. I think your necklace is perfect just the way it is! The length is sublime. I’m partial to long necklaces. And I think the charms give the focal a little extra umph without taking away from it. If it were just the feather on its own, I imagine that it would look a little bare. It’s gorgeous, stop over-thinking it!

  6. I love the charms! Keep them! I might wear this necklace shorter for scoop-neck or V-neck shirts, but definitely like it long to wear with chunky sweaters during Fall and Winter!

  7. Hi Linda,
    I wanted to leave a comment earlier today, but for some reason your blog would not open up to leave a comment. I love your necklace it is beautiful and so Earthy. I also like the charms dangling down by the feather, I would leave it just the way it is.
    Therese

  8. I like the length. and the charms from the circle gear. The charms form the leather work – giving a third round element on the necklace proper. Threes in design are always good… Your colors are gorgeous.

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

