Mi Casa Es Su Casa


My husband and I are spending the winter in the amazing city of Oaxaca, Mexico.

Oaxaca, Mexico

We were here about 2.5 years ago and fell in love with it.  It is a World Heritage Site for both its beautiful colonial architecture as well as its complex and delicious cuisine.  There is vibrant and varied indigenous presence here that includes over 17 separate native languages.  Art, craft and color are everywhere!

For today’s post, I thought I’d introduce you to “our” casa (house).  We are on the outskirts of Oaxaca, in what used to be a separate village called San Felipe.  We have a delightful rented house that is lovingly decorated with local art.

Living Room

Casa 2Kitchen-Dining Area – notice the beautiful tile work and the pottery on the top shelf!

Casa 7A collection of carved wooden spoons, and molinillos for mixing Mexican hot chocolate (its heavenly!)

Casa 1Here is a close-up of the ollas (pots) on the top shelf in the kitchen.

Casa 4Ceramic sink in the bathroom.

Casa 17Terracotta Jaguar

Casa 11Bark Painting

Casa 23And last, but not least…my jewelry work table.

Casa 27I made these “Mexican Flor” earrings right here!

Spring Dreams 4And this sunny work table was also used for this “Turquoise Snowflake Necklace”.

Blue Snowflake Necklace I hope you have enjoyed this little tour.  My next post will show you around our enclosed, sunny patio.  There will be more art and lots of flowers!

I am always delighted to read your comments!   Hope to hear from you.

-Linda

Linda Landig Jewelry

19 thoughts on “Mi Casa Es Su Casa

  1. Thank you for sharing the joy and vibrancy of the Oaxaca culture with us!

    Seeing the exuberant color of the dining set, the promise of chocolate in the utensils in the rack and the jaguar mask all brought me happiness.

    BTW, chocolate used to be an male-only indulgence. I am happy to say that I served turkey mole (with dark chocolate in the sauce) to my family and friends on the day I graduated from med school.

  2. It looks heavenly there. Your pictures and stories of Oaxaco and my brother’s of Huatolco have put that part of Mexico on my bucket list for sure. Such an amazing part of the world! Thank you.

  3. Beautiful! I’m enjoying your posts from Oaxaca. I love the vibrant colors against the neutrals. It feels energizing and calming at the same time. The necklace and earrings you made are beautiful.

  4. Fantastic post Linda! I even sent it to my husband as a gentle nudge that I wouldn’t mind spending a few months in Oaxaca!! Keep these post coming! they are beautiful and inspiring …. and of course I love to see that you’re beading there!

  5. I am glad that the two of you do these get aways – they are magnificent – we will have to get together when you return- ENJOY!

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

