AJE Component Of The Month Challenge – May 2015


Iris Bracelet

This month’s components are beautiful beaded beads by Sue Kennedy of Sue Beads.  I love her beaded beads and her color choices!

Sue’s beaded beads are an obvious choice for earrings, but this time I decided to switch it up a bit and make a bracelet.

Iris Bouquet Bracelet 1I paired Sue’s bead with a lampwork bead by my friends at Beads and Botanicals. and a pretty matte bead with light blue stripes.

Iris Bouquet Bracelet 2I enjoy making bracelets that go from one strand to multi-strands and that was my approach here.  When I started my Facebook Destash Group several weeks ago, I realized that I’d been neglecting my gemstone collection, so I chose some amethysts and pearls for the for the first two strands.

Iris Bouquet Bracelet 5Although I rarely use Swarovski crystals any more, they were exactly what this bracelet called for in the third strand.

While I like each strand to be different, I try to tie them all together with some repeating components, in this case, I have light purple seed beads and small, blue cubes in every strand.

At this point, I knew that my usual brass or copper clasps were not going to work at all for this bracelet.  Instead I selected a beautiful, hammer textured sterling silver toggle clasp. Ooo, so lovely!

Iris Bouquet Bracelet 3When I was a kid, I had a little garden plot where I grew purple irises.  They made me happy and so does this “Iris Bracelet“.

Check out my new life-sized wrist model!  This is her début!  Does she help you picture how the bracelet would look on you?  I hope so.

Iris Bouquet Bracelet 6The Iris Bracelet is available on my website.

The Component of the Month Challenge is a blog hop. Enjoy all the eye candy by visiting the links below.

Guests
AJE Team
Susan Kennedy – Hostess
14 thoughts on “AJE Component Of The Month Challenge – May 2015

  1. Love your bracelet! And The component is great just wanted to add that The actual design/pattern for these beads was created by Debra Schwartz of DatzKatz designs on Etsy and indiemade. Just wanted to give credit where credit is deserved.

  2. What a lovely mix of beads you have picked out the colours of the seed beads perfectly and i love that it goes from one strand to three, lovely touch!

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

