Anniversary Trip To The Beach


Last weekend, my husband and I celebrated our 42nd anniversary!  I am so grateful to share my life with this man.  I wouldn’t be who I am today without him.  He believes in me, trusts me, shares values with me, and supports me.  We’ve been through rough times, but have always prevailed.

42nd Anniversary 12We celebrated by heading off to Port Townsend, WA for an overnight visit.  Port Townsend has been one of our favorite beach destinations for 30 years now and we’re always happy to return. Our 1st stop was at Fort Warden State Park, (where the movie Pretty Woman was filmed).

42nd Anniversary 442nd Anniversary 13a42nd Anniversary 9As you can see from the pictures, the weather was perfect!  We found a comfortable log to sit on and just soaked up the sun and enjoyed the sounds of the waves and the sea gulls.

42nd Anniversary 14Eventually we wandered into town, cruised the art galleries and settled on a new (to us) restaurant for lunch, called Sirens.  We sat upstairs on a balcony overlooking the water.  I swear, it was the best hamburger I’ve ever eaten.  And the view…well just take a look!

42nd Anniversary 3When you have a view like that, you don’t even want to finish your lunch and have to give up your seat!

After lunch, we headed over to Lois Venarchick’s shop, Wynwoods Gallery and Studio.  This is my one of my favorite bead shops anywhere.  Lois seems to have a knack for finding unique beads.  I always find a treasure to take home with me when I am there.  Lois also designs and casts her own metal charms and pendants and that was what I was after on this trip!  Here’s what I came away with.  Don’t you just love these?

42nd Anniversary 19Later we went over to North Beach for a nice walk before dinner. And for dinner we went to a restaurant that Lois and her husband Phil suggested.  OMG, our taste buds died and went to heaven.  The food was exquisite!  It was the perfect place for an anniversary celebration.

42nd Anniversary 18We had a delightful surprise waiting for us when we returned to our motel room.  Our daughter had ordered champagne for us and had it delivered to our room.  We were so touched by her thoughtfulness!  We sat on our balcony, sipped champagne and looked out over the marina.

42nd Anniversary 242nd Anniversary 16aI love spending time at the ocean. It is my happy place.  I have a collection in my jewelry shop called Surf & Sand, which has all my ocean themed work.  Here are a couple examples of what you can find there.

Sailboat Earrings

High Tide Necklace

Where is your happy place?

I am always delighted to read your comments!   Hope to hear from you.

Linda cursiveLinda Landig Jewelry

3 thoughts on “Anniversary Trip To The Beach

  1. Happy Anniversary a bit late. You certainly had a wonderful trip. The pictures are beautiful, and I have long wanted to visit Port Townsend. Also beautiful beads and necklace. It is lovely. Our happy place is in the Mountains of Western North Carolina. We have been going there for years for our anniversary, but had to skip it this year—our 46th—because of my knee replacement. We went out to dinner in town and really missed our little cozy mountain lodge!

    • Your mountain retreat sounds lovely too. Isn’t it wonderful to have spent 40+ years with someone and to have special places that you both love to return to and that are filled with happy memories?

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

