Pretty Palettes Reveal


unknown photographer, creative commons

Erin Prais-Hintz invited me to be her partner for her July Pretty Palettes challenge on the Halcraft Inspiration Blog.  July’s inspirational theme is aurora borealis.  As her partner, I received all these amazing beads from Halcraft. It would be hard not to be inspired by all this metallic sheen and sparkle.  These are perfect beads for the aurora borealis theme!

Pretty Palettes BeadsHere’s a close-up that really shows off the metallic sheen.

Pretty Palettes 2If you look above the pendant in both of these pictures, you’ll see two round, blue-gray glass beads.  There was a whole strand of those in the package from Erin, but in my rush to design with them, I forgot to take a photograph of all the beads before I started.

Shine On Necklace

For my first piece, I made a fringe necklace.  Now you see where all those blue-gray beads went!  It’s a little hard to see in a photograph, but the blue-gray beads have a kind of inner gleam that reminds me of labradorite. I paired them with matte, metallic dagger beads, silver lined blue seed beads and Swarovski crystals.

Shine On Necklace

The multiple colors of the dagger beads brings to mind the many colors that fill the sky during an aurora borealis.  You can find the Shine On Necklace on my website.

Shine On Necklace

While I was learning a bit more about aurora borealis, I discovered that at times it can take the form of a spiral, as in the picture below.  Isn’t that just amazing?

unknown photographer, creative commons

For these earrings, I wanted to express that spiral in the sky.  I used a pair of spiral ceramic charms that I made and combined them with a few of each type of the metallic Halcraft beads.

Aurora Borealis Earrings

Aurora Borealis Earrings

I used a glaze on the ceramic components that breaks into several shades of a black cherry color.  I love how that mimics that naturally occurring ombre shades of the aurora borealis.  The Aurora Borealis Earrings are available on my website.

Aurora Borealis Earrings

Aurora Borealis Earrings

I have more ideas for these beads swirling around in my head, but I’ve run out of time.  I would like to thank Erin and Halcraft for inviting me to play along.  It was lots of fun.

Now I recommend that you hop on over to the Halcraft blog to see what Erin made with these beads and to get links to the other participants.  Happy blog hopping!

Update:  I just found some info on an aurora borealis that some people may be able to see at the end of this month.  Follow this link for more information. http://www.softservenews.com/en/aurora-borealis-breaking-news/aurora-storm-watch-news-300073.html

Linda cursiveLinda Landig Jewelry

7 thoughts on “Pretty Palettes Reveal

  1. I love the metallic and Aurora Borealis look on beads. I in fact just bought some at Michaels that are similar to some of these. I’m an earring nut so of course they are my favorite, I love the random colors in your clay pieces, perfect to pair with AB. The necklace is cool too!!

  2. So glad to have you as my Pretty Palettes partner this month, Miss Linda! I love the swirl charms you created. That is yummy black cherry glaze! And I adore the fringe beads you used in the first necklace. They are playful and fun and a great foil to the soft colors of the stones and glass. Thanks for playing along with me, Miss Linda! Check back on August 5th on the Halcraft blog for our August challenge! Enjoy the day. Erin

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

