Raven Theme – Work In Progress


October’s AJE Component of the Month challenge centered on a raven theme, rather than on a specific component.  Participants were invited to create raven  jewelry or jewelry components.

On the Art Jewelry Elements blog, Karen shared some Native American origin stories and Jenny wrote about Celtic and Norse raven mythology.

RAVENI have had very little time to focus on jewelry this month, as we’ve been busy getting our house ready to put on the market. However, I thought I could at least show you some preliminary drawings.

RAVEN 9Unlike some of my AJE teammates, I have no background in drawing or painting and I’ve only recently begun making a few tentative sketches.  My 1st idea was to keep things simple and just draw a raven feather that I could translate into a pendant.  Even though you’d think a feather would be easy to draw, it took me quite a long time to get the shape and proportions to my liking.  I think this will transfer well into clay.  I have some ideas for patterns to go inside the feather outline.  Can’t wait to carve out some time, so I can get my hands back into clay.

I got to see one of Caroline’s initial raven drawings and Jennifer has been privately sharing some of her drawings from a college class she has been taking this semester.  They inspired me to try drawing a raven head.  Three labored attempts landed in the trash before the drawing you see below.  And I can’t even begin to tell you how many times I erased portions of this picture, because I couldn’t get the proportions right.  This was several hours of work.  Obviously this does not come naturally to me.  But I’m all about stretching beyond your comfort zone.  Karen helped me see that this guy needs a bit more structure at the top of the head, especially at the juncture with the beak.  But overall I’m pretty happy with him – I surprised myself!  I have no plans to make this raven head into a pendant.  I just challenged myself to try drawing this for the fun of it.  I do plan to make use of the feather, though.

RAVEN 8aAlthough I have a raven pendant from Jenny Davies-Reazor, I ran out of time to design a necklace with it.  I will, however, share a finished necklace that is already in my shop and just waiting to fly home with someone.

Blue Raven Necklace

Blue Raven Necklace 3Blue Raven Necklace 2This is a blog hop!  So head on over to Art Jewelry Elements to get links to all the other participants.  I can’t wait to see what everyone has made!

And by the way-

raven

I am always delighted to read your comments!   Hope to hear from you.

Linda cursiveLinda Landig Jewelry

8 thoughts on “Raven Theme – Work In Progress

  1. I am impressed with your sketches. I have the worst time trying to draw my ideas and eventually just write down the details. Like the others, I look forward to seeing what becomes of that feather sketch when you have time to turn it into a component.

  2. I’m having a similar drawing learning curve at the moment! Sketching things out can be helpful sometimes so I’ve been trying to buff up my skills.

    I look forward to seeing your finished feather pendant design )

  3. You are doing great – just keep drawing! I agree with Karen’s advice to you… and look forward to seeing the next one. The feather will be great in clay- and very versatile!

  4. I wouldn’t even attempt to try to draw anything (much less a raven!) so Im impressed with your efforts. Love that necklace too.

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

