On To The Next Chapter


This week we’re closing one chapter of our lives and moving on to the next.  As long as I can remember I’d dreamed of having a house in the woods.  We made that dream come true 11 years ago and it has been wonderful.

bucks 5

Forest visitor.

However, as the years have passed, the yard and large house have become more difficult to keep up with.  So after much thought, we are downsizing and moving to a retirement community that is only about 20 minutes away from our current home.

We will start schlepping some of the smaller items over to our new house on Thursday and the moving van will finish the task on Friday!

Our current house is all packed up and we’re practically camping here.  Well that’s a bit of an overstatement, however everything but the bare essentials is in boxes.

IMG_0830_0806

I left some glazes out and may have some time before before Thursday to glaze some bisqueware.  Fingers crossed.  I have missed doing anything creative for the past few weeks. Taping together packing boxes just doesn’t fit the bill, I’m afraid!

So, would you like to go on a tour of the new house!  It will never again look this clean!!!  A bit of a disclaimer:  I have a bit of a wide angle lens on my  camera which makes everything look bigger than it really is.  This is the  living room and the dining area is on the right.

The Move 1

The next two pictures show my studio from two different angles.  It’s a bit smaller than my current space, but not much.

The Move 2

The Move 3

The open door leads to the hall.  The master bedroom is to the right, the kitchen/living room/dinning area is to the left.

Here’s our new kitchen.  The house itself isn’t new, but it was completely redone on the inside and we got to choose all the surface treatments, lights etc.

The Move 11

The Move 10

I’m sad to leave my home in the woods, but I am looking forward to the many new opportunities that will be available to us, because of this move.  I’ll be writing more  about that in the weeks to come, (hint: the retirement community has an amazing, full ceramics studio!)

I am always delighted to read your comments!   Hope to hear from you.

8 thoughts on “On To The Next Chapter

  1. Loved your blog about your new house—it looks wonderful! And, how were you so lucky to find a retirement community with a ceramics lab? Good luck to you and keep us posted.

  2. Wow – sounds like you found the perfect community! It’ll be fun to see your growth as well as find out what others there are creating. Love your new kitchen and the possibilities! Best wishes for health and happiness in your new home.

  3. Linda, that is so exciting for you! Your new home looks beautiful …. I just know you’ll love having less maintenance & responsibility. My husband & I are evaluating retirement homes in the Pa. area also. In a few years, I hope to be doing exactly what you’re doing …. looking forward to lots of new and exciting opportunities …. wishing you all the best. Thanks for sharing your photos!

  4. Congratulations on this exciting new chapter! Your house looks wonderful. I LOVE your beautiful wood floors. I’m hoping to do that someday in my house. And a full ceramics studio. That place was meant for you! I hope the move goes perfectly smoothly.

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

