Use Your Stash – January AJE Reveal


For 2015 Art Jewelry Elements decided to freshen our monthly challenges a bit and throw some new challenges into the mix.  Our January challenge was to go through our stash and find one or more art beads that were created by AJE members and design something with them.   My stash of art beads is burgeoning and this was just the kick in the pants I needed to stop fondling my treasures and start using more of them.

The first piece I made uses a delightful owl pendant that I picked up from Lesley Watt at Bead Fest last summer. Not only do I love the owl design, but the glaze on this one makes me swoon.

Night Hunter Neckllace 3The glass and wood beads are strung on two strands of Irish waxed linen, with butter-soft blue leather lacing in the back.  I made the clasp out of patina’ed brass and I added a bit of chain so the length is adjustable.  TheNight Flight” necklace has been added to my shop now.

Night Hunter Neckllace 2The next piece is a simple charm necklace, perfect for pairing with jeans.  The ceramic gear was made by Karen Totten and the red and cream ceramic charm is my work.

After Midnight Necklace 4I named this necklace “After Midnight”, because Karen and I are both night owls and you can often find us chatting away on Facebook, well after midnight!

After Midnight Necklace 2And lastly, I have a super pretty pair of earrings that feature Kristi Bowman’s amazing copper hoops with beautiful caramel colored decorative glass headpins by Sue Kennedy.  These two were just made to go together!  I made the earwires myself and added a pretty spiral twist to the loop portion.

Caramel Drop Earrings 2b You can find the “Caramel Drop” earrings in my shop.

Caramel Drop Earrings 4Links to all the participants are below. Have fun visiting their blogs and seeing what they have created!

AJE team: 
Guest Participants ( aka winners)
Samantha- Wescott Jewelry
Nikki – Silver Nik nats
Yvette – Blue Kiln Beads
Bonus participants! 

I am always delighted to read your comments!   Hope to hear from you.

-Linda

Linda Landig Jewelry

 

18 thoughts on “Use Your Stash – January AJE Reveal

  1. Hi Linda, You did an outstanding job of perfectly pairing pieces together. I rarely am attracted to brown tones but I love your caramel drop earrings. The owl necklace is my favorite.

  2. These are gorgeous. The combination of color harmony and textural harmony in the own necklace was stunning. The charm necklace looks like something so comfortable, so easy, so go-with-everything that it would become a go-to necklace. The textural harmony in the earrings is so right, so complete, that they, too, would become go-to.

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.