Holiday Ornament Blog Hop


I’m running late, but am jumping into the 7th annual Ornament Blog Hop over the Art Bead Scene Studio blog.

We recently got some new clay at our ceramic studio.  It is a mid-fire porcelain, called New Zealand white.  I love everything about it! It feels good in the hands, it is fairly forgiving and it is a brilliant white.   It turns out that it is perfect for ornament making. So I got a little carried away…  I made a couple dozen ornaments.  Some are small enough to be a pendant, while others are large enough for a tree with strong branches or are even suitable to hang on your wall.  I’ll just share 4 of them here.

Christmas Ornament 4

The mitten is one of the ornaments that could also be used as a pendant.  It is decorated with a wintry holly and berry pattern.

Christmas Ornament 2

I adore the simple contrast of the blue and white on this snowflake ornament/pendant.  That same simple contrast works just as well in red and white.

Christmas Ornament 5

After making loads of smallish ornaments, I went big.  The ornament below is a little over 3 inches tall.  And I’m still having fun making these.  I have a tray full of the large ornaments, sitting on my work table, ready to be glazed.

Christmas Ornament 1a

This is a blog hop, so I encourage you to head over to the Art Bead Scene Studio blog where you’ll find links to the other participating blogs.  So fun to see what everyone has made, in so many different styles and media!

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Holiday Ornament Blog Hop

  1. Oooohhhh, that clay does look dreamy! And your work with it is even better. I’m glad you’re having fun with it because I’m sure they’re going to be a hit!

    (Oh, and the link you shared in the linky on the ABS site was wonky. It took me some deleting of extra stuff in my URL bar to get over here. Just a heads up!)

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.