Dogwood Necklace


AJE Component of the Month Reveal

Once a month Art Jewelry Elements (AJE) hosts a component giveaway and reveal.  August’s component was made by the talented Melissa Meman of Melismatic Art Jewelry.  Members of the Art Jewelry Elements team, plus a few  lucky guest artists were given gorgeous metal focals that Melissa made for us.  I received the pretty mixed metal dogwood pendant in the upper right of this photo.

As usual, I left this project till the last-minute–but that turned out to be fortuitous! Since I’d put off designing my necklace until after I returned home from Bead Fest in Philadelphia, I was able to incorporate some of the new treasures which I brought home with me.

Linda Landig Jewelry

Dogwood Necklace

My ideas started perking when I spied a purple and periwinkle lampwork glass leaf sitting on my work table.  I bought the leaf from glass artist, Judith Billig, this past May, at a local bead show. Pairing a leaf with the dogwood flower made sense to me and they were proportional to each other and looked good together.

Brass Dogwood Necklace 6

After that, the rest of the ideas flowed quickly.  I grabbed a beautiful silk ribbon that Marsha Neal had given me at Bead Fest.  Then I added awesome textured ceramic beads that I  got at Bead Fest from Mary Hubbard of White Clover Kiln and a glowing purple raku bead from XAZ Bead Company.  To add a bit of contrast to the ceramic, I incorporated a lampwork glass bead from Beads and Botanicals and finished the whole thing off with a clasp I got from Melinda Orr last weekend in Philadelphia.

handmade jewelry by Linda Landig

Dogwood Necklace

I love it when ideas just flow together like this.  I’m still floating on a creative high from spending 4 days in bead heaven with all my beady buddies at Bead Fest.  (More on Bead Fest soon)

Artisan necklace by Linda Landig Jewelry

Dogwood Necklace

Want to see more gorgeous  jewelry with Melissa’s mixed metal focals?  Here are all the links.  Have fun!

Guests:

Perri Jackson
Hope Smitherman
Monique Urquhart

AJE Team:

Melissa Meman
Jennifer Cameron
Jenny Davies-Reazor
Sue Kennedy
Linda Landig – You are here!
Kristen Stevens
Francesca Watson
Lesley Watt – Unfortunately, Lesley’s component decided to take a vacation and hasn’t shown up at her house yet 😦 But you can still go check out her great blog!

.
I am always delighted to read your comments!   Hope to hear from you.

Linda

Linda Landig Jewelry – ArtFire 
Linda Landig Jewelry – Etsy

 

14 thoughts on “Dogwood Necklace

  1. This is so pretty Linda!! I love Judith’s beautiful leaf headpin hanging and all the beads and mixed media you combined with the beautiful COM piece. Striking creation!!

  2. Pairing up that beautiful leaf with your morsel was INSPIRED! It really set the tone for the whole piece, which is so much more than beautiful. I love the addition of the fiber as well. It really softens the necklace. Absolutely sublime. 🙂

  3. What a wonderful composition!!! The colors perfectly compliment the Morsel without overwhelming it – tough to do with such saturated colors – you are a master!! My eye just flows over this piece with longing – I love it!

  4. Linda – sorry I am late! I love it – the harmony of color and the variety of ingredients. I especially like the brassy tones of the clasp and the leaf connector echoing the dogwood. Three is one of my fav design numbers…

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

