Moving Day!


Moving In 5

The big day finally arrived.  Everything in the old house was finally packed up.

Moving Out 1

We’d labeled all the boxes with which room they should go to. Then we labeled the rooms in the new house, so the movers would know where to place things.  There’s my studio on the right.

Moving In 4

And here comes the furniture. The men are moving my beloved printers cabinet into my studio and I am hovering around making sure that they baby it, (They did.  They were awesome).

Moving In 6

Carefully putting the cabinet in place.

Moving In 7

My studio at the end of the day. Lots of work still to be  done!

Moving In 8

If you look at the second picture in this post, you’ll see an empty bookshelf.  We had many of these shelving units in our old living room,  because we’re both avid readers. However our new, much smaller living room will only hold one tall bookshelf and one that is half that tall.  So we donated probably two thirds of our books to the library and then placed all the extra bookshelves in my studio!  I had long dreamed of having a whole wall of shelves to contain all my supplies!

On the second day in the new house we started re-assembling the shelves in my studio. You can see that one tall bookshelf is already in place and one short shelf unit has been assembled.  A screw driver lies atop the shelf, ready for assembling the remaining shelves.  Altogether, I now have 3 tall units and 2 short ones.  A dream come true!

Moving In 1

Here’s what the other side of the studio looked like at that point.

Moving In 9

More progress has been made over the past week, but I’m not quite ready to show it off yet.  Perhaps I’ll turn the tables on the idea of a house warming gift.  Instead, I think that I’ll have a giveaway with my next blog post. We could have 2 winners.  One person could win a pair of earrings and one person could win a ceramic pendant.  What do you think?  I’ll  mull over this idea (which just now occurred to me!) a bit and see what I can come up with before my next post.  Stay tuned!

I am always delighted to read your comments!   Hope to hear from you.

6 thoughts on “Moving Day!

  1. Looks like the move is going smoothly (although it is still a BIG hassle). Your studio is going to be awesome! Look forward to more photos!

  2. Linda….in all of our PCS’s, we have never labeled our rooms. Thank you fr a great tip-putting it to use this summer when we move to Miami.
    Happy unpacking and settling-in to you!

  3. Ooooh, I love how organized you were for this move. Labeling the rooms in the new house was a great idea. I really enjoy seeing your progress and am looking forward to more peeks!

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.

