July Component Of The Month Reveal


This month’s  Component Of The Month was made by Art Jewelry Elements (AJE) team member Niky Sayers.  Niky, who is from London, England, used 2 old farthing coins to make a very cool bead.  I didn’t know how much a farthing was worth or when it had been in use, so I looked it up.  A farthing was worth a quarter of an old penny and there were also half farthings and 3 quarter farthings.  They were taken out of circulation in 1961.

Farthing Bracelet 3I knew that I wanted to make a multi-strand bracelet with my farthing bead.  I thought this raku bead, from Odd Designs, would add some color while also tying in with the coppery color of the coin.  At that point I decided to go for blue and coppery brown in the whole bracelet, along with some smaller spots accent colors.

Farthing Bracelet 2The blue lampwork glass bead (above, right) by Jen Cameron of Glass Addictions was perfect for my third focal bead.

Farthing Bracelet 1Each of the three strands of smaller beads has a mix of blue and brown glass beads, with some accent colors and some small copper heshe..  Although each strand is different, they all have some blue glass seed beads with a copper sheen and some of the copper heshe.  These common components help  to tie the overall design together. Farthing Bracelet 5I  finished the bracelet with a handmade ceramic button by Karen Totten of Starry Road Studio.

Farthing Bracelet 4Thank you Niky for sharing your awesome metalsmithing skills with us in the form of this uber-cool bead!  In addition to the AJE team members, 3 lucky guest artists also received farthing beads. My Farthing Bracelet is available in the bracelet section of my shop.

Check out the blogs listed below to see what everyone else made with their farthings.

Guest Artists

I am always delighted to read your comments!   Hope to hear from you.!

Linda cursiveLinda Landig Jewelry

12 thoughts on “July Component Of The Month Reveal

  1. What a beautiful design Linda, It’s fab how you have tied the overall design together with your cleaver use of beads I’m not good at working with colour and really admire those who can use it so well! I also love how you have used Karen’s button as a clasp!

  2. Such a gorgeous bracelet, Linda. I love the combination of colours, texture and shapes. It really shows off Niky’s bead. Thanks for including me in this challenge.

I love comments! Please share your thoughts.